Amazing how quickly you get used to having some me-time ... A free write about the past week

in #life5 years ago


When tiny human went to preschool at the start of September, I suddenly gained me-time

Meaning, I actually had the feeling since 3,5 years that there was me-time at all. She's always been a tiny demanding human being, and she often says that she wants me instead of dad (lucky me, yay!)... Although the first 2 days were only 2 hours, and not really worth mentioning, it still felt like a blessing. It took 2 more full mornings at school before she got ill, and I kept her home until Tuesday, which of course happens. A parents life also contains a lot of sick days with the child at home.. But I didn't see it coming that 2 days after she started school again, she'd get a fever.. So she's been home since. I went to the doctor last Monday, and today was actually the first day I have the feeling she's almost recovered and fit enough to go back to preschool in 2 days. Lucky me, as daddy is home as well next week, so I can probably ask him to pick her up a few times while I bring her myself in the mornings. The past week has been challenging, daughter refusing to take her medication first, and also demanding attention from the moment she woke up until she fell asleep (very) late at night. I'm exhausted! The image above is how I hope some days next week will feel like, minus the cat as we (unfortunately) don't have one...


I found out that the Metropolitan library in Budapest is post worthy

Last Wednesday we were lucky to be without electricity all day (8AM to 6PM), meaning I had to keep my toddler busy while being still ill, and having no electricity inside the house. She was well enough to go outside, but not really recommended to spend the full day outside. So I asked for advice on a Facebook group what they would do in my situation. Normally my daughter loves drawing or painting, but ever since she's home ill, she mostly had attention for cartoons, which was going to be a problem last Wednesday. Tablets run out of power, and I didn't have the power to charge it. Someone told me that the library was a fun place to visit, with a very cute children's department that includes English books as well. I had never even thought of the option that there was a library having English books here, how dumb of me! The only times we had English books was when I bought them (way too expensive!).

Wednesday we started walking and after Google maps let us walk 40 minutes passed the library, we finally arrived.. It was worth the walk though, as I had a brilliant idea while walking.. it really cleared my mind... The children's department was super cute (I will post that soon) and we took home some books for the little one to read to her. Unfortunately, because we had this touristic route to the library (which turned out to be very close to our home in the end) the little one was too tired for us to explore the rest of the library.. I've seen pictures where the rooms look like those ballrooms you saw in the Sissi movies... I will go there next week to hopefully shoot some cool pictures to drop a nice post about the characteristic library.


Newlife and newsteem seem to blend pretty well here

I've been trying to write a post about our visit to Malta last year for 4 days in a row now, I started filtering the pictures I took.. then selecting those I wanted to use.. I started writing the introduction, and then every single time I did, I was taken out of my writing flow.. Having an ill child at home really affects everything else.. So today I was happy that my boyfriend was at home, and hoping to finish that post, which I really want to feel very satisfied about.. but it didn't happen again. Then I just realized that a new era has started here with the toddler going to preschool. I got way too comfortable having my own routine the first week she went there, being pulled out of the routine when she got ill. Instead of feeling bummed about it, I should just accept this is the way it's going to be more often from now on. Cherish the days that I can use my writing flow to the max, and don't feel down when something happens and I can't do anything. It's basically part of our new life, and also fits well with my #newsteem behaviour.


I'm my own worst critic, and don't want to deliver something that could have been much better!

I don't write daily anymore, and sometimes I do a sort of free write like this to clear my mind.. But when I actually have something to share, and know that there is the potential of delivering a great post, I don't just rush it, and wait until I'm 100% satisfied .. even it takes 5 days before I can publish it .. I love seeing new accounts (new to me) vote my posts, and some manual curation initiatives that I didn't know as well.. Thanks for your support if you're one of them! I appreciate it a lot! <3

I'm calling it a night for now, and will (hopefully) finally finish my post about Malta tomorrow.. Have a great weekend everyone...

~Anouk

Sort:  

Thanks for the update on your child. I am glad to hear that she has recovered well enough to go back to school 👍. I enjoyed reading your article!
Have a wonderful weekend with your family, my friend @anouk.nox😍🥰😘🌺💐🌷

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76