You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do Women like Men in Uniform?

in #life8 years ago

Good post, Seth. I think my wife gets nervous around uniforms now, but am not sure. She certainly has changed in her perspective on LEO as I've worked at deprogramming her over the last few years.
Still, there is something regal looking about a soldier in his dress uniform. I don't admire this so much as I think it's just unmistakeable. I would assume that some of our perception is carryover of the ideal knight that holds virtue and honor above all and lives sacrificially for the good of those he's sworn to protect. It's a nice ideal, and perhaps some embrace it, but it's far from normative.

Sort:  

I agree. Uniforms are simply good looking. There's no way around it. And assuming my wife was being perfectly honest with herself, that's all that some women care about. But the narrative of "the ideal knight" has a strong hold on our culture and on the hearts of many women.

It's definitely a good ideal, but you would be hard-pressed to find that ideal personified in anyone "serving" the state.

Agreed. It's antithetical.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58805.73
ETH 2642.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45