Story of my life, Part 2:- The alien goes to school.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

★Pontillas Family 1991★
IMG_0002 (10).jpg

In the year 1991, my parents finally settled in Tawau. Dad started working as a civil engineer at a company called Slagk Consultants, and mum worked at Pathlab, Tawau. Our family were just starting to get on our own feet so all mum and dad could afford back then was rent a medium sized room in a dodgy old flat. Flat Hijau(green) is what the locals call it, i don't know if that's the official name or because the flat was painted green thus the name Flat Hijau. But it's still a roof over our heads, a place to play with my toys, so things are good & we're grateful!😀👌

IMG_0003 (10).jpg

★The road to the flat!★ (Thank you Google Earth)

★Home, 1991 - 1995★
IMG_20180122_221046.jpg

Mum & dad enrolled me into a chinese nursery, Taska Lok Yuk (乐育幼儿园)was the name. My malay during that time was horrible and i literally had never heard of mandarin before! The language barrier was already there since day one, mainly because i only conversed in visaya & english at home with my parents. Imagine the horror of my kinder teachers & schoolmates, i can't understand them and vice versa!😂

But thank goodness God made a mind of a child like sponges. In a couple weeks time, i was able to understand malay & mandarin, learn the abc's and of course 123's. The occasional speaking in visaya to my classmates still occured from time to time though. There was this one time according to my mom, i was arguing with a teacher on what to call a pencil in malay. FYI, pencil is malay is pensil, but i was adamant and call it 'lapis', which was the visaya word for pencil!😂

★Class Photo★

After a year in nursery, i finally graduated and went to kindergarten in Sin Hwa school(新华幼稚园)! But this is for the next part of my story as an alien in Malaysia, till next time folks! Steem on!

If ya'll haven't read Part 1 yet, click here

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

Sort:  

Nice story.melayu faham ka?hihihi..
Done upvote N follow.plz do the same for me.tq

Syukur Tuhan faham bah sudah, haha!

I've learned a new Visaya language today thanks to your post. "Lapis" it has a different meaning in the Malay language. No wonder your teacher was arguing with you. 😁

I shall do more posts integrating other languages then, the more we learn, the better we become!😂

To be continue .....

Thank you for sharing.

Yeah! Like a poorly executed tv drama..😂..you're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66505.48
ETH 3595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90