What it's like to be an alien. Part 1.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

We've already done our introductory post that basically declared our arrival on Steemit. Ours is a joint account that we share between us both (my fiance and i). Tag teaming in telling stories on this wonderful platform. But this post here is my very own. Hi, the name's Jezreel Salabsab Pontillas, just call me Jez.😃

My life drastically changed when my parents decided to migrate from the Philippines to Malaysia in 1990. Well my dad is a pinoy who grew up in Malaysia during the early 60's, he met my mom whilst furthering his education in Cebu, Philippines. Fell head over heels with each other, got hitched after finishing their bachelors in their respective fields, and then bam! Along came me!😂

Dad went back alone to Malaysia in 1987, told mom he'll look for work here and will come back to bring mom & i with him when i get a bit older. Though far, he still came back to visit us in the Philippines every chance that he could get.

★With dad during his visits★

I was 3 years old when i arrived at these foreign shores, didn't understand the local language, wasn't familiar with my relatives over here, thought the food sucks (at first😂), no friends (i'm a child so having friends is a must!), everything was alien to me! Even i myself was an alien in a foreign land!

Dad is a civil engineer, mum is a medical technologist, both of them took the plunge and found their tiny bit of paradise here in Malaysia. They didn't have to but they just did it, all for the sake of our family's future. Before we really settled down in Tawau, Sabah. Which is a small town in the east coast of North Borneo. Our little family moved from place to place, following dad wherever he went. Basically spent my first year in Sabah living in his quarters at an palm oil plantation where he worked at in Lahad Datu. He was already accustomed to life here since he himself grew up in Sandakan. He spoke the local language, his family and most of his relatives are also here too. So starting life with his own family would be a piece of cake right? Wrong. It was ultra hard! I know it was even though i wasn't able to understand the circumstances back then.

★Mom, Dad & I. Malaysia 1990★

Life was hard, but as a kid i treated it as an adventure everyday. Hanging out with mom at dad's quarters while he goes out to work from 8am - 6pm, Monday to Saturday. I haven't started school yet so i think that came as a small relief for my parents. Wouldn't want them to worry about finding a kindergarten right in the middle of a plantation and quite far away from the nearest town!😊

It's literally impossible to continue this long story of my early childhood so imma' just leave it here and end part 1. Stay tuned for part 2 in the not so distant future! Thank you for reading and steem on fellow steemians!

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I have a question: What is a "pinoy"? Can you explain? I hope you enjoy your time here and be sure to check out DTube as well. It's the video platform based on the Steem Blockchain. Kind regards.

Thank you, pinoy is how we filipinos refer to each other. For instance, if a certain someone came up to me and said 'are you filipino?', then i would say 'yes, i'm pinoy.' Pinoy for male, pinay for female.😀

Ah I see! Thank you for educating me!

You're welcome cap'n!👌

Blessed to have a childhood that consists of happiness, innocence & oblivious to the word hardship.

My sister's name is also Jezreel! Haha! Anyways, nice intro and lookin forward to part 2 😁

I thought i was the only one with that name..😂 Part 2 will be 'aired' soon!👌

Hi jazreel.

Hello! It's Jezreel though..😂

Opssss.sorry dear,my mistake..🤗

Hello Jez, it's nice of you to open up a bit about your background. Today I've learnt something new about 'Pinoy' and 'Pinay'. I've stayed and grew up in Sandakan before, so I made many Pinoy friends during school days, less Pinay as it was a Boy's Only school 😅. I still make contact with some of them, but only through phone calls and texting. Its quite a surprise, you have longer hair when you are a kid than now 😁😁😁.

Yeah, just started season 1 episode 1 of my own drama/biography.😂 Well then maybe you may know my dad's younger brothers? Which school in Sandakan did you go to? Let's just say i prefer my hairstyle now, cheaper and easier to maintain!😂✌

I was at St. Mary's Primary School, came back there to study in Form Six later on. Maybe, one of my friends or schoolmates back then is your uncle. 😁

Very nice write up...

Thank you!😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05