Where are you now? Where you want to be? Message to your Younger Self – What Would You Say?

in #life8 years ago

Time for Reflection:

If you had an opportunity to write a message to your younger self what would it say?

Take some time to reflect back in time (it maybe a week ago or 40 something years ago, like me). Reflection is a way to track your progress and make adjustments along the way.

It's a way of answering real life questions:

Is this what I really want from life?

Am I on track to fulfil my dream/s?

Is there something I can change to create what I want?

Have I been living in a stagnant form?

Is it time for change?

Am I ready for change?

What do I fear? And why?

Am I happy where I am now?

My message to myself would read like this:

DO NOT LISTEN TO ANYONE BUT YOURSELF
FOLLOW YOUR HEART
BECOME A FREELANCE WRITER/PHOTOGRAPHER
DON'T LET ANYONE STAND IN THE WAY OF YOUR DREAM

Maybe I should add DON'T MARRY THAT PERSON, but without relationships and mistakes, where would we be? Lonely!

At least once a year, I write a message or letter to my younger self. I use it as a gauge to track my progress or regression and see where I can make current life adjustments.

All I wanted was to travel around Australia and write articles for magazines. I listened to my boyfriend and my mother and well, I went down a conventional path that I really didn't want. I went to business school and picked up an office job. I lived my life how other people wanted me to live, but its not what I chose.

Some years later, I did end up living my dream of writing/photographing for a magazine for 10 years. It was hard work getting there with loads of extra night classes. But I did it!

Our greatest lesson in life? Listen to yourself and follow your heart and believe that it's never too late to realise your dream.

BELIEVE IN YOURSELF

What would be your message to your younger self?

Sort:  

hmm...a thoughtful post that made me think and will probably inspire one of my stories...Thank you!

Most of us would probably want to warn our younger selves to avoid painful choices, as if we could remove hurtful parts of our lives. But as I remind my wife, every wrong turn in the road led me to her, so I don't think I'd want to change a thing :)

Thank you. The idea of this post is to get people thinking about where they are in life and if they are happy. I'm in a similar situation and without all the hardships would certainly not be in the position I am now. I just wished I hadn't have wasted half my life trying to conform to other people's ideals. Glad I could inspire you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43