Use it or loose it. How early should people start?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Stay physically and mentally healthy are the messages experts constantly relayed to the seniors. The key is 10,000 steps a day. Activity is the key to good well being and an effective prevention to the physical inertia and mental decline.

To me it makes more sense to exercise when younger so as to avoid all sorts of problems in the later years. I was under the misapprehension that exercise was widely practised by young people but I have found out that I am very wrong. Deepak Chopra reported that only 50 percent of young people exercise regularly and with every decade this number drops off dramatically. Really? No wonder a number of older people walk with the aid of walking canes and walkers. The mobility scooters are becoming a common site.

This is my big incentive to retain a youthful energy no matter my chronological age. The best bit of information to learn is that muscles and mental acuity do not wear out, they get stronger with use. I have seen 90 year olds run, dance and do yoga and gym routines and they are amazingly flexible and very healthy. I tell myself that I can do this in my old age.

Childhood is the ideal age to start exercising. To develop that mindset is up to us as we grow up, but I suggest that you do whatever takes your fancy. The key is to have fun.

(pinterest)

ooooooooooo

Love and blessings

Cheers - thank you for reading and having fun

oooooooooooo

Sort:  

Hello, very good content

Hi jaimevilcatec and thank you. It was fun writing this post.

Thanks apolymask ... once again.

Back when I was a child, exercise was common for children. We would ride bikes all day, walk everywhere and play neighborhood sports. Now everything seems different. Everyone distrusts one another, many fearful to let their kids out in the neighborhoods. Guessing there is a connection to not so many dads in the homes/neighborhoods now.

When you do see young ones about, they often have their faces down reading the cell phones, letting the surroundings remain a ghost to them. Then, once they are old enough to be on their own they either find jobs sitting down, or if unlucky enough to find labor jobs like in warehouses, they will have unrealistic quotas (as if they were a factory machine) that will wear their bodies down from inhuman repetitive motion.

This usually leads to a bad diet, as after working in such a manner, one is often ready to collapse by getting home, and will eat a quick to prepare flavored poison sold as food before numbing their minds on the programming shows that erode their mental well being.

In response to your observation of 90 year olds running and dancing and doing yoga, it reminded me of the Hunza. Their seniors can outperform the average westerner half their age. They are living proof what can be achieved without so many "conveniences" and how something as simple as walking everywhere and eating healthy provides a healthy longevity.

Love the post, saw it in my feed from a resteem from @apolymask. Have put you in my favorites. Our blogs focus on opposite sides of the spectrum, and will do me good to have a dose of positivity and good thinking from time to time. Blessings to you and yours.

Hello practicalthought, I really like your overview of youth and lack of activity. So true and another post or two at least. And yes, when I was a primary school child I walked a few kilometres each way to school and then I rode my bike later on in high school. Being one of 7 children we were always out playing. I consider myself incredibly lucky that I was brought up to be physically active. It has held me in good stead. Thank you for the information on the Hunza, I will look them up. It reminds me of the Tibetan Monks and their life style. And yes, your are so right, looking at life through the many different lenses is a great way to see different points of view and grow in knowledge and understanding.
Regards
angiemitchell

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Howdy angiemitchell! I agree, start young! I also agree that we should keep at it as we age, it takes more time and effort to stay in shape as you get older but it's a great investment!

Hi janton, that is why I keep on with all my exercise and adventures - haha.

yes Ma'am, I bet in many ways you are more busy than when you were working full time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56