The words of a 90 year old ~

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Reaching the age of 90 is quite a feat, a lot of years have been lived, happy and sad. Perception of age changes according how old one is. Like for example, a young person of 18 would consider a 60 year old as ancient, at least that is how I thought. Now, here I am at a party celebrating Alice's 90 year old's birthday, she was reminiscing on her life, both happy and sad.

I am the only one of my family who has lived past 70. Who would have thought that I would be left, my 6 sisters and brother all gone? I miss them, miss talking to them. I married George in the 1950's and we lived in Brisbane raising our 2 children. It was a happy life, George was the worker while I stayed home with John and Cheryl. Where did the years go? It seems like they flashed by and I wish I could bring them back. You see, the worse time for me was when John died in 1989, he just dropped dead of a heart attack. He was only 45, such a terrible time. Then 15 years ago when we were shopping George dropped dead when I wasn't there. I told him that I was going to the bank and I would be back in 10 minutes. When I got back there was a crowd around someone on the floor. It was George. I have lived alone all these years, Cheryl visits.

You ask me what I would do differently? I would take more time to cherish my loved ones, tell my son and husband how much I loved them, not to take them for granted. Life can get too busy and I see that I took them for granted, always being there and sometimes annoying me. I would not get upset so much over little words or unsaid words. It is lonely living on my own and I have a lot of time to think back. We only stay young for a very short time, hang onto them.

I miss talking to my sisters and brothers, my mother and it seems like yesterday that I was a child.

I don't know why I am still alive, I have had lots of operations, have a walker to help me get around, cannot eat very much but here I am turning 90. Cheryl looks after me on the weekends and the Blue Nurses come everyday. I wonder If I will get to 100.

Happiness guys.


Cheers


Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

howdy angiemitchell! what a story! Both happy and sad like life itself, God bless her!

And life goes too quickly janton, catch it while one can!

howdy today angiemitchell! oh I so agree with you on this philosophy, Amen!

Que hermoso llegar a esa edad y ser amado y queridos por todos, 😘 feliz cumpleaños y muchas bendiciones

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57975.44
ETH 2289.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46