I practise the Five Tibetan Rites ...... have you heard of them?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Not many people know of the Tibetan Rites and if they are conversant with this form of exercise, very few actually do them on a daily basis.

I was first introduced to the Tibetan Rites when information on them flashed across my screen in my working job. My interest was piqued but to my hectic work schedule and at that time my swimming and personal training commitments I saved the document and promptly forgot about them. That is until I started yoga class four years ago and a discussion on the Five Tibetan Rites got me interested again.

So, I promptly went on to Google and followed a video clip of a lovely young lady doing the Rites. That was nearly four years ago and I am still doing the Rites mostly each day. Very early starts, illness, travel and visitors can and do interrupt my practice occasionally. I go with the flow and accept little interruptions to life's routines. I also believe that as long as I do the Tibetan Rites each day that it is okay to do the number I can on that day. So I may do each Rite 15 times or 18 times. I try not to get hung up with doing 21 each day.

The Five Tibetan Rites are not hard, it is suggested that you start doing 7 and then increase the number gradually or quickly depending on you. Practising them each day and doing each one 21 times are recommended.

Here they are, take your time and count to 4 each time you do a Rite.

  • The first Rite is a spinning one and I find that a lot of people get dizzy with spinning so they can't do this one. it is okay to do a couple if that suits you.
  • Number 2 Rite involves laying on your back and moving legs up and down,
  • Number 3 Rite is kneeling and bending the body back,
  • Number 4 Rite is laying on the back and lifting the body up to a table position supported by your arms, and
  • Number 5 Rite are upward and downward dagwood dogs.

(pinterest)

It does take time, commitment and determination to do them each day. How many one does is totally up to each person.

__________________________________oooo0000000oooo_______________

Finding out more about The Rites was a must for me so I downloaded this book on my Kindle:-
THE FIVE TIBETAN RITES - ANCIENT ANTI-AGING SECRETS
SECRETS OF THE FIVE TIBETAN RITES

Carolina Witt wrote an uptodate version in 2014 while the original book on The Five Tibetan Rites called the They Eye of Revelation a first edition in 1939 with an update in 1946 written by Peter Kedler.

Peter Kedler's book tells the story of a retired British Colonel Bradford who found out about a small group of monks living in a remote Tibetan monastery who practised a series of Rites and who as a result were remarkably youthful and healthy. He went to find them and ended up living with the monks. Here is a paragraph from the introduction of Carolina Witt's 2014 edition.

Bradford lived and studied with the monks for several years, where they taught him their secret to the fountain of youth. He brought this information back to the West, where it became known as "The Five Tibetan Rites of Rejuenation" - a daily ritual of five yoga - like movements, a breathing technique, and some simple spiritual practices involving vocalised sound and mental techniques.

As the story goes, the much changed Bradford returned to London after a couple of years where he went to visit an old friend. The friend did not recognise him at all. Bradford became well known teaching The Five Rites to enthusiasts in London.

______________________________oooo000000oooo____________________

It is also written that after 6 months of practising The Five Tibetan Rites people would start to notice a healthy change in you. So I decided to test this theory. Did I get the positive comments? Yes and no. Certainly I have been told that I look well, fit, healthy etc. Maybe this is due to my general lifestyle of walking, cycling and practising yoga each day as well. Perhaps I am a little bit of sceptic but I do feel very well and while I enjoy doing the Rites I shall continue to keep
do them.


Cheers - thank you for reading and for your support


Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Howdy angiemichell! These look interesting, I've known the movements but never did them consistently or together which obviously if very important. If it's anti-aging then I'm willing to try them! lol.

Looking younger was a big motivation for me too janton, I am always up for a challenge, haha. We do think a like!

haha! yes Ma'am I have no plans to get old faster than is necessary, I want to fight that all the way! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95