I make my own meat pies for a very good reason .....

in #life6 years ago

Meat pie and sauce roll baking has been a long time practice of mine. I could even say that I am driven! I like to know what goes in the meat and the pastry.

I absolutely know that one can buy meat pies at the Baker's and I do, but only very occasionally. It is not because I don't like a good old meat pie it is a matter of finding good meaty ones that taste extra good. A cold wet winter day and feeling hungry is a trap when walking past the aroma of meat pies at a Baker's.

But, there is a dark side to meat pies and that is the bad fat content called trans fats. Here is Wikipedia's definition on trans fats.

Trans fat, also called unsaturated fatty acids or trans fatty acids, are a type of unsaturated fat that occur in small amounts in nature, but became widely produced industrially from vegetable fats starting in the 1950s for use in margarine, snack food, packaged baked goods, and for frying fast food.

I believe that trans fats clogs up your arteries and raises the bad fat level in one's cholesterol. Here are a number of other foods that are best to be avoided if you value your health.

  • Bought cakes especially with frosting
  • Bought biscuits
  • Margarine
  • Doughnuts
  • Breakfast biscuits/sandwiches
  • Microwave popcorn

Learning about trans fats is very good reason to avoid buying these foods in supermarkets. Hence why I make my own pies.

Being strapped for time this week I bought light puff pastry with reduced fat. They look good and I am sure will taste yummy for lunch when all the family come to stay.

Love and Blessings


Cheers - thank you for reading and for your support


Sort:  

Bakers bought food is always oh so tasty, but at least you know what’s going in your home cookin’ 😋

Posted using Partiko iOS

So right conradsuperb, but I remember that one very tasty meat pie on one cold rainy day in winter! haha

We all remember that one !!

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Howdy there angiemitchell! I remember you talking about these meat pies before and I'm not familiar with them, what kind of meat goes in them?

Hiya janton, I cooked a beef pot stew in a crock pot for a few hours. It is Australian chef Bill Granger recipe. Meat pies are very Australian and I can assure you very yummy. When we had a Canadian friend visiting last March eating a meat pie was on his bucket list! At that time I had slow cooked brisket meat pies.

oh wow angiemitchell! our smoked BBQ brisket would be fabulous in your meat pies! I'll get the recipe from you sometime when I get read to try to make some!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55