Get whatever is bugging you off your chest ....... let it out..

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I don't know about you but talking about upsets makes a whole lot of sense to me, it clears the gunk that is stuck inside. It is a must to stop thinking about it, stop feeling upset. Otherwise the negative energy goes round and round in one's head with no resolving.

Sometimes in certain settings like family gatherings words are said that are hurtful, they might not be intended to hurt but none the less. For the sake of diplomacy and peace thoughts are best left in the mind, not spoken aloud. The is when the ego takes over and decides to feel hurt. Maybe at another time it would not be a problems but on some days it is different. Maybe it has to do with biorhythms.

On the way home yesterday afternoon after a little family -in-law morning tea my ego was injured, nothing too bad, just an off cut thoughtless remark. I know that I really should have stayed neutral, let it go. But no, I felt put out.

Damn, I really work hard at staying neutral, letting any comments flow out the window.

Not today! I failed!

On the way home I really needed some debriefing and so my nearest and dearest listened, he acknowledged my feelings and understood. Talking it through took an hour but now I feel lighter and so much better. Best to let it out, not to harbour any annoyance. This is negative energy that only festers and grows. Now I feel even better writing about it.

Next time I will try to stay neutral, leave my ego outside the door. I must not let comments get to me. It does not matter! Family is family filled with love, happiness and a little bit of angst thrown in now and then.


Cheers


Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

ohhhh great ocean and beach shot! I hear ya angiemitchell but it's the hardest thing in the world do to isn't it? Not not let the hurtful words hurt? I think a few have mastered it but extremely few! lol.

Yep, just got to working at it. I am not one for nasty words or confrontation. Maybe I am a coward, lol.

oh no, I know you're not a coward but nasty words and confrontation never solve anything do they? We've both seen that our whole lives and that behavior leads to more hurt and anger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79