Beef Stroganoff is a crowd pleaser ...

in #life6 years ago

Here is a foodie post today! I have always loved the dish Beef Stroganoff - it is said that the dish oiginates from Russia and is basically sautéed pieces of meat cooked in a sauce of mushrooms, onions, garlic and sour cream.

Beef Stroganoff is one of my tried and tested recipes that is stored in my memory. It is one of those meals that always seems to work out as long as the right ingredients are put in and the slow simmering cooking of 2 hours. Preparation is fairly quick as long as already cut beef strips are bought.

Ingredients

  • 1 kg beef strips
  • plain flour
  • paprika
  • 1 large onion or 2 smaller ones - chopped
  • 4 crushed gloves of garlic
  • 300 grams of sliced mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup of white wine
  • 2/3 cup of beef stock
  • 2 tablespoons of tomato paste or puree
  • salt and pepper
  • 3/4 cup of sour cream

My cooking process -
Place the flour, paprika a chopped steak pieces in a plastic bag and shake. This coats the meat really well with the flour. I so this process twice with 500 grams of meat at a time. It is more manageable.

Sauté the meat in a heated pan with oil until lightly brown. Remove from pan. Pour some more olive oil into the pan add chopped onion, cook for a minute before adding the crushed the garlic. Cook for a couple of minutes until the onion is clear. Then add the sautéed meat and sliced mushrooms to the pan. Next, add the wine, beef stock and tomato paste. Season with salt and pepper. Stir, put the lid on and let the stroganoff reach a boiling point then turn the heat down to let the food simmer for a couple of hours. Stir occasionally. Slow simmering cooking makes for a tender stroganoff.

Beef stroganoff is best served with pasta topped with some chopped parsley is my preference. I like green vegetables like broccoli served on the side.

Here is a pic of the Beef Stroganoff served up for dinner.


Cheers

Have a happy day.


Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-23T21:14:45
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 52.00/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I love this type of post very much ... friend I invite you to take a look at my last message and know a bit of my story and the reality that many are unaware

Glad you liked the post. I'll check your blog.

howdy again angiemitchell! wow that is one scrumptious looking dish! haha, I could almost smell it from here!

Hiya janton again, it sure is a family pleaser. Have you not tried Beef Stroganoff?

have I tried it? yes but many years ago, haven't had it for a long time but need to! lol

One of my favorites too. Especially when made by my wife or my dad-in-law.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82