College Graduation & Beyond | Video Blog

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi there folks. Today I made some tests with the camera here while the sun was shining. I want to start video blogging, and share my journey through a semester of school while transitioning into building a production company.

The previous fall semester I finished an Associates Degree in Liberal Arts with an Area of Emphasis in Creative and Applied Arts. I was considering continuing on for a Bachelors, but I want to start building my company instead.

So, I signed up for the spring semester because there are some important classes being offered which only come around every few years: Advanced Design Studio, and Portfolio Development. Plus, financial aid is all set up and I only had to click a few buttons to enroll. These two classes along with an Animation course, and a course on Appreciating the Photographic Image feel like an appropriate way to end this chapter of college.

My career with video cameras and computers began long ago. I started filming skateboarding, then bands, then music videos, some commercials, short films, and then feature films. The problem was I ended up simply pushing buttons for blockbuster movies. Not working in a creative capacity at all. It didn't feel right. Employees were being let go every other Friday. Seeing herds of people be told to go home, all while I didn't enjoy the atmosphere was awful. Work was being outsourced to other countries, and departments were shrinking. So I bailed on that whole scene. Bought a small 1971 Ford Shasta Motor Home and started traveling. Living off the grid. Even struggled with some Luddite tendencies, but I made it back to the cameras and computers for another round, with a new approach.

Classes begin next Monday January 22nd. May 25th is the end of the semester, and Commencement. Originally I didn't care about commencement, but after considering the whole process--the reality of how hard it was to complete all the courses--I have decided I am going to do it. Embrace the ceremony as a rite of passage.

The production company is already beginning to come together. Last summer I got the bank accounts set up. Bought a web domain (keeping it under wraps for now) and have begun developing a direction for the next few years. The business will focus on video production services, and feature film development. Over the winter break I picked up some video gigs within the real estate market to generate some income. A few gigs are lined up for the beginning of February, and I will have to really focus to pull them off and stay on top of school at the same time.

Along with the school to production company narrative I will be making more instructional/experimental videos for testing, and continuing to share my art, thoughts, and stories.

The next detailed post I am considering putting together would focus on testing variable frame rate with a Lumix GH4 in Adobe Premiere. I have done variable frame rate shoots before with other equipment and software, but I need to have this workflow tested with my current gear.

Alright folks. Thanks for being here. I hope all of you are doing great. I want to encourage you to work hard towards achieving your dreams. Enjoy the ride. Cheers Steemians!

Here are a few posts I have made in the past about video production. Have a look. Let me know what you think.

Motion Picture & Video Production Tips | Eye-line
Check the Background | Motion Picture & Video Production Tips
Do you want your videos to look great? | Adobe Premiere tip

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Drew [andrewking] from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61536.69
ETH 3445.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50