You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dangers of Black and White Thinking

in #life6 years ago

Black and white thinking is necessary, and ultimately preferable, where criminal and civil liability are concerned. You want bright line rules. It doesn't always tend to work out that way, and there will always be edge cases, but the clearer the rules, generally the more stable the society.

This especially applies to moral rules. They are, by definition, black and white. While it's tempting to say there are no moral absolutes, there undoubtedly are. Where consent is concerned, gray areas are moral hazards.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

@anarcho-andrei
I respect your view point and agree with most of them with respect to morality. However, if you read my post I gave examples where black and white thinking DEFINITELY don't work.
Like, you and your GF Chelsea get in a minor argument.... are you suddenly no longer in a relationship?
Some people with severe depression think that way. I've seen it and experienced personally to a degree with my own clinical depression.

My boss is in a bad mood and I automatically assume i'm getting fired? That IS black and white thinking and it IS irrational.

You bring up consent, i mentioned nothing about consent here, so I would definitely agree it is a "gray area with a moral hazard"

I'm talking more or less trivial matters that are exacerbated in those with MENTAL ILLNESS which can be dangerous and lead to self harm, self sabotaging, and even suicide.

I know you are studying to be a lawyer so what you're saying in regards to LAW is different. My post falls more under a psychological standpoint. Maybe i should've worded this differently in my post.

As always refreshing to see a different point of view hope this makes sense. I definitely don't believe in an "anything goes" society

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88