Daylight Saving Time Change And The Rain

in #life6 years ago

I really hate that daylight saving time change happening every six months or so, especially when it arrives with the rain.

RainingPhoto from Pixabay. Credits to Pexels for buildings-droplets, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

Last night was the night when we should adjust our clocks again. At 3 am the clock had to be moved one hour back, so that 3 am would become 2 am. Great! Someone might say, you've got one hour more to sleep in the morning. Yeah, right!

writer-blogger Image from Pixabay. Credits to Joenomias for aurora-winter-time, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

But the thing is that I didn't wait and keep myself awake till 3 am just to move the clock one hour backward. I fall asleep way before and this morning half still sleeping and another half trying to wake up, I saw my husband pounding around the clock that hangs on the wall.

My first thought was, "How the heck, that early in the morning he even managed to notice that the batteries ran out again? - I don't want to know!" I turned on the other side, quickly decided I would continue to sleep rather than investigate his Sunday early morning maneuvers around the house and clock. For heaven's sake, it's Sunday! Really, not interested!

When I finally wake up, a few hours later, still half blinded with my eyes half open I throw a quick look on the clock on the wall why I was heading towards the bathroom. There, as I had that crazy habit of wearing my wristwatch even sometimes overnight, I took a look to see what time it is.

Yeah, right! Which one is it now???!!! My wristwatch was showing 8 am while on the clock on the wall I saw 7 am. I turned back to the room to check am I losing it or there was really 7 am. It was 7 am. I'm not nuts. Not yet!

But what the heck?! And then it hit me, flashbacking the early morning scene with my husband doing something around that clock I was finally aware it was all about the daylight saving time change.


It's 6 pm now, and I'm thinking, what kind of daylight saving time change this is!?! There is complete darkness outside, while yesterday at the same time I could enjoy if not the full daylight but at least nice warming golden hour colors of the sunset. And on top of all of that darkness, it's raining!

Rain at NightPhoto from Pixabay. Credits to milivanily for rain-window-blur-night, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

I know I would have a daylight one hour earlier tomorrow morning, but if I may choose, I would rather have it in the afternoon instead. So much from me and daylight saving time change "garnished" with the rain!


Posted on Sunday, October 28, 2018


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges - 2 Years on Steemit

Sort:  

Heya Mama,

This is @metzli taking the steemitmamas account "for a walk."

The time change won't happen for us until next week, and for me, it doesn't really matter. My kids' sleeping schedule does not care what time it is. When the clock changes back, I don't get extra sleep either, the kids go with the sun.

But I don't prefer it when my husband has to leave for work in what feels like "the middle of the night."

I enjoyed reading your post. Keep them coming! Remember to share in the #steemitmamas discord! We love having you there <3

Ah ah, you're right. This changing of the hour is a total madness. I usually go for a walk after work. Now it will be dark. Damn.

Indoor yoga time! Or hibernation. lol

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @ana-maria!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.474 which ranks you at #2032 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2034).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 241 contributions, your post is ranked at #80.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

The time change also demands a little bit of body clock adjustments I guess. Well you gained one hour of sleep now but when it again changes there will be a loss of 1 hour.
Rains is something I enjoy the most, reason being we hardly have rains in middle east, but yesterday was a bonanza there was a heavy shower and too for a long time, I thoroughly enjoyed the evening..hehehe :-)

Yeah, I prefer to have an hour of light more in the afternoon too. It is sooooo creepy when the sunset begins at 4 in the Winter, I really dislike that and can not wait to get that hour back again lol

I get depressed... but I am ready for it this year! I will get outside while the sun is shining, keep bright colors in my home and eat lots of veggies!!

@metzli visiting from steemitmamas!

Ahhh our daylight savings time begins this weekend. I have to admit, I am looking forward to an extra hour of sleep!!
On the whole though, I feel like the time change nonsense is just unnecessary. Lets just keep it the same year round!

I'm so confused. lol. I thought we LOST sleep this time around. But like I commented earlier, my kids don't care about the clock, they follow the sun, so I sometimes don't even know what happened. Especially now that all my clocks get automatically adjusted...

@metzli visiting from #steemitmamas

Well, Im not sure what part of the world you are in, so maybe it works differently there. In the US, we 'fall back' in the fall, so time rewinds an hour. :D
So we get to sleep in a little.

HAHAHAH I am in California, and just have trouble wrapping my head around time in general. I would prefer to only have 5 days a week with only 30 hours each.

;)

OH! Hahaha!
Well, here I was looking at it as we gain an hour of sleep, cause in the morning, it will be an hour earlier than it would have been, and we can sleep more. But then, you go to bed an hour later, so in reality, you gain nothing.
Its crazy!
I kinda like your 5 day week with 30 hours, haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80