Enterpreneurship Starts at Home.

in #life7 years ago

Justin Tuck with his 2-year-old son, Jayce. Credit Karsten Moran for The New York Times

As a kid, Beyoncé would charge her parents' friends $5 each to watch her perform. When Beyonce was just 7 years old she was up against talented 15 and 16-year-olds in a talent show. She was able to beat all of the older kids by singing "Imagine" by John Lennon.

So this is the one where we might disagree, but I believe am right when it comes to creating a nation of innovators, independent thinkers, of entrepreneurs, of people who actually have a sense of Taking action and value of money.

I think it's very easy to blame the schools, the media, the religious institutions, the politicians, blame everybody for setting the wrong example.

Blame but ourselves. Parents are the first centre of everything in a child.

Mark Zuckerberg was about 12 when he created a messenger app, which he called “ZuckNet.” It made all the computers connected to each other and allowed to transfer messages between computers. His father installed the messenger on his computer in his dentist office, and the receptionist could inform him when a new patient arrived. The approval he got after his father decided to use his software meant the world to him.

Empowerment is not something you can be given in a seminar when in college. It starts at home.

For me the very idea of how time translates into work which translates into value and structured ego then the money starts at home, and it starts with exposing your children to work.
I get to see people in non-work environments. I have a lot of time for event planners who I've seen literally get their kids to do tie-backs and the layout things. When an event is happening they're putting up and the kids are there; especially if they're on holiday or they finish college.

I really like it when I see Parents who insist that "Yeah today you're coming to sit in the office. You can type a few documents, print them and file them. get a sense of what it is I do and even if you think it's brain-dead work, this is how I afford your holidays to the coast."

I have a lot of time for parents who are very clear that "I'm going to tell you what I'm doing." For example, I have a dear friend of mine; she has a daughter. She is quite young; still in kindergarten. Whenever she is busy out of town, I do help with picking and dropping the Daughter to and from the Kindergarten. Surprisingly, the daughter knows wherever her Mum Is held up in and she understands in detail what her mum is held up doing.

"My mum has a board meeting with her Bosses tomorrow morning. Will you be available to drop me to school?"

She will ask me on our way home. Though she doesn't understand what it is, she knows the terms. At a certain point in her life, she's going to sit quietly through a board meeting even if it's just a board committee meeting.

The amazing thing about this little girl is the way she already understands the work dynamics and how she questions whether somthing can be done differently. Her skill of effective expression and communication is way past her age.

Everything cannot be left to the schools and to the child welfare associations and to the president and God knows who else you want to raise your children into these amazing entrepreneurs are going to be. "Can you mentor my son..?" yes, what have you done so far...

I bought my home from a real estate company owned by Indian family, and even when I was looking at the development that was already done, There were kids always running around; they were on site. They understood what these people do for a living and the fact that they have to deal with people with demands like me. I love my Indian and Asian buddies. I really do; you know why; because your kids are still handing me change before they're as tall as the counter. If there's a weekend or a holiday they're in that store. When you look in their faces, they look seriously unhappy; Because they want to be out with their buddies doing God knows what. literally you can tell from our Indian Asian counterparts. Their children are in their businesses early. and then there is us. Somehow if we don't have a corner office we don't want our children in there. And one of the things I have told the gender ministry is, I want to institute our first 'take children to work days' and gazette it.

I know exactly when I want it. I want them done in November and December because this is the only time the public school system is closed for long enough for us to be able to do it. Even if its one 2 weeks a year. Take our children to work. no matter what that work is let's start there, and then we can go and tell the media and the school system how they have failed.

Enterpreneurship will start at home.

Sort:  

Congratulations @amosei! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @amosei! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59696.15
ETH 2618.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41