What do people chase after?

in #life6 years ago

Perhaps below all the things that people blatantly chase for in life such as riches and fame, there are things under the surface which they are truly longing for. Things such as love, knowledge, acceptance, and there are probably more.

Underneath a money-chasing social media influencer is a person that desires to be accepted by society. Underneath the guy that acts like a total snob cause he rakes in huge paychecks, is a boy that desires to be loved by his peers.

My Personal Experience

With many years of putting my heart into things only to have it go wrong, it has greatly reduced the amount which I can feel.

I used to be really expressive -- dancing to music, singing songs from the bottom of my heart, making little animated videos to tell a cheesy story that reflected my feelings, writing heartfelt letters to everyone who mattered.

In the past 7ish years, I just gradually stopped feeling as much. Through experiences with people, I got burnt -- people not appreciating the heart I put into those things, using it to gain an advantage through me, laughing at how cheesy I was (I'm pretty sure it happened behind my back). I've since became more withdrawn and have expressed myself less -- a reflex to protect myself I guess?

People chase highs like drugs and alcohol, I'm chasing the "high" of feeling something. Maybe I'm addicted to trying to feel, I know it sounds really silly. I love songs that make me cry, movies that make me laugh, those talent shows that always come with a sob story.

I just want to feel strong emotions, cause that's what makes me a human, that's what makes me, me.

How do I choose between my head and heart?


I've always felt that we should always use our hearts to guide us, cause our hearts are what makes us, us. Of course as we grow older, we learn that things have to be a balance, and our brains have to work just as hard to make things work in society. And whether we like it or not, we're part of one.

It's always tough and a battle between the two. I go by a principle now -- if things are meant to be irrational (eg. love), think with your heart. If things are meant to be rational (eg. work), do it with your brains. -- The lines do get blurred if you start doing work for yourself though, but I guess that's a good starting point I guess?

Conclusion


Perhaps people are afraid of being their true selves cause it's defined by society as weak and pathetic. Hence, they're just using a cover to hide what they're truly searching for -- or maybe, just maybe, they don't even consciously know it.

Could the things we do in life, just be us trying to patch up these holes that we have in our minds?

Sort:  

Alright quite true @alynx, anyway am kinda like that, can remember always writing down my feelings whenever am full of emotions, be it dysphoria or euphoria; i just always want to write, maybe to communicate with my emotions. That was just me as a little girl and sometimes they make me cry, sincerely even as a lady i still do those things atime lol. Maybe that was why i chose poetry and art entirely just to truly communicate what i feel inside.
Anyway i love your content👍

Hey Steph, thanks for popping by. I'm still looking for a way to express myself, kinda got caught in the whole "busy lifestyle" over past couple years, and totally neglected this part of me. Appreciate your comment, looking forward to more of yours in my feed ;)

Ok sure
Anyway i just made a poem, you can check me out if you don't mind
https://steemit.com/steemit/@stephceecee12/2fsigg-ceecee-s-poetry

Congratulations @alynx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13