Check Out My Scar: A Lesson I'll Never Forget.

in #life6 years ago

Many years ago, I have learnt a very important lesson. This lesson was learnt through pain and some laughter, but mostly pain. Although many years have passed, I still have the scars to remember it by:


That's just one of the scars

Believe it or not, I was given that scar by my pastor. I would like to think that he was the cause of it, but he vehemently denies it. Who was at fault, you be the judge. This all started after a normal Sunday evening. Church had just finished and we started having a friendly match of Captain ball at the Basketball court.

If you are not familiar with Captain ball, its basically like handball. You score by throwing the ball to a team member standing on a chair. If he/she catches the ball. You score a point. It's generally a fun game, except that it can get a little competitive. On this very day, my pastor's team was scoring well. Being the competitive person I am, I doubled my efforts, searching for any opportunity to score for my team.

It was at this point that the ball was caught by my pastor. I crouched a little before lunging myself forward, attempting to tackle him. He however, by sheer agility or the grace of God, dodged my tackle. I fell forward and blocked my fall with one hand. It was at this point that everything went black for a split second before I found myself lying on the ground. I tried getting up but I could not move. I looked around and everyone was staring at me in horror.


Image source

I turned to find my hand laying in an unnatural manner on the ground. My pastor rushed over and supported my arm, using nothing but a guitar strap to hold it in place. I was rushed to the hospital where the horror begins. The doctor was either:

i) High on drugs.
ii) Incompetent.
iii) A janitor posing as a doctor.

The doctor assumed that my arm was dislocated despite my pastor telling him repeatedly that it was not. No X-ray was done before he held my arm and said the following words:

This is going to hurt.

The doctor, without any mercy started swinging my arm back and forth, attempting to put my arm back in to its imaginary socket. I yelled and screamed as I felt the agony of my bones grinding against each other. The nurses had the audacity to say...

Lower your voice, it doesn't hurt all that much.

In which I replied that I would break her arm and we will see how she responds to that treatment ( I was in pain). The agony was finally over. The next day the doctors (the real ones) came in and told me that he had good news and bad news.

  • The bad news: It was a fracture, not a dislocation so they have to repeat a different procedure.
  • The good news: The doctor will be around to do it.

tenor (2).gif
Image source

Off I went screaming again and for a short while, my arm, according to the doctor's opinion was 'fine'. A month went by and a follow-up X-ray revealed that the bone had 'suddenly' went out of place (his words not mine). I thought enough was enough and so I went to a different hospital where a more professional doctor cut my arm open to insert two metal plates in support of it.

The titanium plates remain in my arm until this very day. I'm not taking it out because it cost me a few thousand dollars, so I'm keeping it. About who was at fault, I suppose I shouldn't have tackled him. As such the lesson learnt is:

Not Everything is A Competition. Bonus lesson: Don't Tackle a Man of God.

My pastor and I are still great friends and we laugh about this from time to time. I hope you have enjoyed the story. Do let me know your thoughts in the comments below.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

It's story with a lesson in it. We should avoid incompetent doctors. They have a tendency to spoil you. Yes everything is not a competition. Nice share. Keep posting @alvinauh

Thanks! appreciate you stopping by!

I literally felt "ouch!" as I read this. I just couldn't stand my imagination of seeing people's bone is dislocated, what more broken. Hope your arm works perfectly as it is before the incident.

Its working fine now, mananged to get a black belt and went to Sukma with it..hahaha.. I think the titanium helped a little.

luckily you recovered well. do you still play captain ball?

regarding the doctor, it is a very common way of treatment in gov hospital but I am not sure if you went to gov hospital first.

I only played it for fun. My main sports was swimming and taekwondo back in the day.

Yup, you guessed it! It was a government hospital. However, I should point out that the gov hospitals in kota kinabalu are excellent. They saved my daughter's life through quick action. Can't say the same for the private ones here though

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

I feel... pain... ouch
Imagine fracture bone and being treated as dislocation. So painful to think of it
Nice way of you to narrate this story 😁

Thanks! I think if the bone protruded out of my arm, it would have made a meaner story..haha.. Glad you enjoyed it!

Oh man.... sounds nasty... thanks for not sharing the photo of the original cut.. I would probably faint looking at the image

You mean the real fracture? There was no blood, just the arm twisted in a weird way though..

Oh man... but you couldn't have felt the pain I experienced a decade ago... still, I feel your pain

You had a similar experience?

Hello @alvinauh

This is really an interesting story turn sour. I think your Pastor has nothing to do with this; neither was it your fault. It is only natural that one tries to win a competitive game. Sustaining injury in the process is just a possibility that later manifested in your case.

So sorry and I am happy this is now a history and you are fine.

@eurogee, the founder of @euronation community

Yeah, the pastor and I are good and we do joke about it but it was an accident. The only non-accident in the story however was the doctor who was not clear on what he was doing unfortunately. I hope others don't fall victim to what he does.

Hello bro, I read the message and it really touch me. What am pointing towards is that from the story no body was at fault, to me it was bound to happen. But hope your hand is working perfectly well. Sorry for the ugly incident dear friend @alvinauh

Its working great, still could do some pretty heavy sports with it, think if I add a few more pieces I will be ironman!

its really hurt

yup, it did, but its alright now

What an heartbreaking story , am happy for you that you still live to tell the history, may God continue to protect us all

Amen, I am sure He will, Be blessed my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61014.18
ETH 3412.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52