You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 Ugly Truths About Being A Leader And Why I Quit Being One

in #life8 years ago

https://steemit.com/truth/@alexgr/finding-the-truth

...
The Masters and the followers

There is a reason why all the great masters, philosophers and teachers were not “followers”. There is a reason why those who “followed” after the “great ones” very rarely attained anything near the glow or achievements of their master or teacher. The reason is because the very act of following another is a self-limiting declaration which says “I'm lesser than - I'm useless on my own, otherwise I wouldn't need to follow anyone else”.

All the great masters and teachers achieved what they did because they had the intention to think for themselves and a belief in their own ability to find the truth, rather than basing their hopes on someone else to do it for them. This is the only consistent thing about them that must be emulated or “followed”. Not their personalities, methods, truths etc.
...

Sort:  

that was a great article @alexgr

shame it got so few votes.

It's the ironic twist of people not valuing "the truth". I get a perverse kind of joy when it tanks in rewards :D

Same here man. I get commnets all the time about the "negativity" in my comments. I obviously try to shed some light here and people still want to be sheeple. just read some of the comments.

i guess people want to be sheep

I think some times they want to attack you personally, but they'll find another way to phrase it (find something wrong about the opinions shared). The reason is that they perceive you are a bit hot-tempered and create friction. Most people will camouflage their disagreement with some level of politeness (=political correctness) while you are more direct (perceived as having a shorter fuse and blowing up / escalating pretty quickly)... It's not the content per se (where the disagreement is).

Regarding content anyone might agree, disagree or not even care about something - it's the preference of frictionless interaction that most have and that they don't want it to be "disrupted".

For most (not me), friction in interaction = red alert / danger.

When I see "heated" disagreements etc, I try to see past the discussion and find the deeper substrate of disagreement, and in this case, this is it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64300.62
ETH 3165.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56