You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I have never laughed so hard... and never needed it so desperately!

in #life7 years ago

There are still people who watch TV?

This reads better than some of the stories that are filed under 'writing'! You should add that tag, instead of the introduceyourself, calm down the bots!

Sort:  

Not a bad idea. I'll edit my tags. Yep, those bots can get annoying. Lol.

Could you do me a favor and Resteem? I just edited my tags.

BTW, I'll connect with you again on Discord when I get some free time. I have some ideas for you!

Sorry but I don't do resteem! When I go to a user's account and I see it's full of resteems, I just think my feed will get cluttered, and 9 out of 10 times I don't follow them! Same happens when I see a user's posts are all over the place. I have varied interests myself, so what I do is I label each post as a 'series', in parenthesis, so a user can give it a quick once-over and decide whether to ignore or look further. Hopefully in the future steemit will think something along the lines of users following a specific 'channel'. Cos I might be interested in food, but not in traveling or trading or train-hopping, but a user posts about all of these, so I have to look at it on my feed.

So, I try to help in other ways, but I never do resteem! Could always change my mind in the future tho, dunno.

No worries. I realized after I asked that resteeming doesn't resubmit it as new anyways. I'll just tag my posts better next time.

I'm hoping that Steemit Inc., puts some more work into the UI. Its really hard for new users to be seen, as unless a whale upvotes you into "hot" you'll just get buried under hundreds of new posts within seconds. It's a tough problem and I don't have any easy solutions.

Very very true. How is this thing supposed to go big, with such low retention rate?

I don't have any solutions either, but then I haven't thought about it. But one thing that I have thought, is that steemit should get quality content, that users will read and upvote anyway, i.e. without caring about the money. I.e., when you sign up into a well-known newspaper website, and you leave comments, and you 'like' or 'rate' articles, you don't care one bit about getting paid. So steemit should cultivate the mentality that you're here to upvote quality content, and if you get paid that's all good, but that's not the goal. The writer will get paid - that will all work like before. But the reader will upvote because the article is actually good.

So, how do we make that happen? Quality content. I don't know, maybe curation rewards should go away completely. I guess they implemented them because they worried that otherwise everyone will just post and no one will read. But what happens now is that people merely vote on stuff that they know will rise in popularity. So, for instance, there's a new article that just came up on my feed. I check, and there's just 3 people who voted. I quickly check the user's account, and every single one of his articles has made upwards of 300 dollars. So what do I do? I upvote, without having read the piece at all. (I don't do any of this, it's just what I imagine others do, comparing the upvotes to the views, that are usually half of the upvotes.) And it becomes a self-fulfilling prophesy: the article keeps rising because of a similar mindset, and it ends up trending, and there attracting even more attention, hence the trashy articles that mostly populate the trending pages.

Sigh!

Compare all this with Patreon. Patreon actually attracts incredibly high-quality content. It's how all youtube users get paid these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94