Why it's okay to be average and medciore

in #life7 years ago (edited)

So I was helping my mom out at the office the other day. And it got me thinking about the work I do.

Here I am everyday writing about personal development, self-improvement or self-help, the three most common terms in the space.

I’ve helped a lot of people. I’ve created freedom in my own life in my own way, but you know what? This isn’t to say my life is all that great.

There's honestly so much bullshit involved in the self-help industry as practitioners all around are advocating a bunch of ideas that imply that their life is good, when it's not.

They also imply that they’re leading better lives than the average person, when that’s not true all the time.

When I was in the office with my mom, I caught a glimpse of how great she is.

Yes. She has to go to an office everyday. She has to wake up early. She has to toil to keep the business going. She also doesn’t have time or travel the entire world and stuff.

But you know what? That’s okay. In fact, that’s more than okay.

She’s not arrogant about it.

She’s proud of who she is.

She’s happy to have her sons by her side.

Is that average? Of course not. But the pretentious people in the self-help space seem to think so.

Just because you quit your job to follow your dream doesn’t mean you’re super awesome. You only quit your job. And that could be the stupidest decision you ever made.

Just because you travel the world often doesn’t mean you’re better than the rest of us. It only means you went to new places as a human.

Just because you make a ton of money doesn’t mean you’re happy. Everybody knows money doesn’t buy happiness.

Just because you meditate doesn’t mean you’ve mastered your emotions. You’re not a god. You’re not perfect.

Just because you have passion doesn’t mean you ahead of the curve.

All of these are good things. They’re legit. It’s okay to have them.

But it’s also okay to not have them.

It’s okay to have a job. If you like it, good for you. If it pays the bills, what more do you need?

It’s okay to not travel the world. It’s overrated. Some of us prefer to stay put and that’s okay.

It’s okay to not make a ton of money. There’re many great things in life that are free.

It’s okay to not meditate. Nobody can perfectly master their emotions. Who said they have are fucking liars.

And passion? Passionate people are the most problematic.

Take it from me. We’re so passionate that we tend to feel extremely fucked up inside when things don’t go our way. In that sense, we lose the ability to practice tolerance. We get so angry all the time. We get sad all the time. We feel the need to express ourselves over every ridiculously small things. We always think that there’s something wrong with us. We have it harder than others when it comes to letting shit go.

In the office, I watched how my mom exchanged friendly banter with her neighbors over there. Everyone was kind and friendly. Everyone was happy.

I watched how my mom utilized her time properly to become really productive.

I watched how she did all of this out of love to support the family.

How is that average?

No.

You’re not average or mediocre just because you’ve a job, lacking a dream, lacking passion or not traveling the world.

You’re just you. You make your own decisions. You create your own life..

Nobody is better than anybody else.

We’re just trying to figure it out as we go along.

Average and mediocre are not vulgar words. Whoever said that they are are just constantly unsatisfied with life.

And that is not necessarily a good thing.

Hang out with some of these pretentious people and you’ll know.  

www.Alden-Tan.com

Follow me here on Steemit! @aldentan

Support my work here on Patreon if you like my writing. Peace!

Upvote, resteem and comment ya?

Sort:  

Hello, I love your article because I agree with you! I am always getting motivated and motivating others with self help listening to Tony Robbins or John Maxwell, Grant Cardone and I always end up feeling so down dumbed because I am a humble teacher. I go to school to work everyday with little kids who are developing their thinking and their social skills, and I love my job, I do not make much money, I pay bills, I do not have money to travel the world, not even to go visit my relatives in Mexico, I do not buy fancy clothes, I do not own fancy cars, and my lifestyle is just an average working public school teacher, but you know what? I love my students! I love my own kids too! and I am happy to go teach every day, I get up early and make my coffee, I bring my own lunch, I became vegan recently but I am being humble about it, I am actually saving money, my husband is not a successful person, he is average and mediocre but he goes to work every day and he helps people with the humble job he does. He does not have any studies or preparation but only his experience in the field. I have hanged out with people who have it all figured out and no, they are not happy, I have dated jerks, I have met peolpe who travel the world, have all their problems solved, all cars taken cared for, but they feel miserable and treat others terrible, so, no I am not impressed to hang out with those people, I love the human development and to encourage others to be better, however, no I am not better than others for telling them to do better. Totaly agree with you and I like your article a lot, that Im going to write another article like this. Now, I think there are several articles about bitcoins and crytocurrencies than self help.

You're fucking awesome. Teaching is such a NOBLE job. I am glad you feel this way. I've friends who work in banks and they explicitly say things like, "My job doesn't contribute to society. You can't see shit."

End of the day, when you're dying on your deathbed, you're going to look back at the awesome experiences you have had in your life, not fat your bank account is.

Whatever job you do, do it with pasion, do it to improove yourself.
If you do it just for the money, you will never be happy.

True words.

Definitely just enjoy your work and put the hard work into it if it is your passion. Don't care what others think, it is your decision to be there and do what you do, not theirs.

Especially when you have kids and they depend on you! Quit your job while others are dependent on you? Selfish.

Exactly, good to see you sticking at it as is your mum.

Thank you! I wish to support her more though.

Just be there for her and help out when you can. She will appreciate it always.

:) Thank you. I appreciate you too.

hey @aldentan i was very upset that i don't have a passion for anything and was looking forward to find my passion. But after reading this post its seems that not having a passion is also okay. would you like to red about it
https://steemit.com/trending/introducingmyself

Yo you want passion?

Be interested in things.

Try out all sorts of shit.

One day, your heart and mind will click. Boom. Passion.

Just be patient okay?

I am desperately waiting for that day. How do i keep my calm?

Beep :) <3

Er... just chill?

What a good blog, I'm so glad to have run into it, and upvoting this, and resteemed the article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71