Wanting More Out Of Writing, Steemit And Life: A Declaration

in #life6 years ago

Lately, I haven't really been motivated to write here.

All I had been was giving commentary on interesting pictures, some musings and re-publishing my old blog posts.

It was lazy of me, I'd give you that, although in my defence, considering my history, I have earned the right to take it easy and show off my previous work.

Anyway, I've been in a slump, for I want something more out of writing.

Steemit has been great, there's no denying that it has played a huge factor in my life.

But I have grander visions as a writer:

  • Creating fiction, tales and stories. Fiction is what I believe to make people feel something deep within they never existed.
  • Getting published traditionally. I've blogged enough online to know that online marketing works to a certain extent and it's not for everyone despite it being modern and convenient. Traditional still has its strengths.
  • Selling the movie rights of a story.

Yep.

I was talking to my boy @rok-sivante and how the constant writing of, to put it in a niche, self-help ultimately can turn against you.

I can't explain it well, but let's just say that writing about one thing all the time makes you tired, jaded and disillusioned.

What more, the goal of helping others can make you feel... like your service needs to come to an end, indefinitely or not. Truly, too much of anything will ultimately become bad.

I've felt the slump several times before. I always had to take breaks.


But I guess ultimately I need to no-excuse the shit out of myself.

As much as I hate cliches, they sneak up to you anyway.

Here's my declaration: I'll be writing more fiction. No, not all will be published here.

And I'll go out (of the house) to do real shit instead of partying and drinking mostly.

I'll try.

I hope you'll be stick around with me.


Sort:  

I find this post so relatable right now.

Shake things up, see what falls out.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I like ur honesty and vulnerability. Its a great and rare quality.
Though Rok is ur man, without him ur posts wouldn't be worth anything on the regs. You either need to step up ur game or find a new roll.

The real power is in doing what you really love and focusing on your dream. Fuck everything else.

Best Regards~*~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60745.98
ETH 2342.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52