The paradox of not giving a shit anymore

in #life7 years ago

I was unhappy when I gave a shit too much, especially about caring what others thought of me.

It was aggravated by the fact that I had to deal with ungrateful people. I'd ask myself, "Why bother doing good? Why help? Why obey? It'd only make me unhappy."

Then I stopped giving a shit. I stopped giving a fuck.

I liberated myself. I released.

I stopped being nice to people I don't want to be nice to.

I stopped caring so much about what others thought or said.

I stopped obeying.

I stopped trying to please others for no real reason.

It felt good. Not giving a fuck felt awesome. It was a real pleasure to actually be selfish. 

But yet, not giving a shit can make you listless. It can make you passionless. It can make you slack and less curious. I remember laying in bed all day not wanting to get up. 

That's the paradox of not giving a shit.

That's why you need to strive for balance.

You need the right amount and right type of 'care.'

Care for yourself, but care for others that are worth caring for. Eliminate the toxic people in your life and throw them away. 

Always stay passionate, but don't slack. There's a difference between being slack and lacking passion altogether.

And always remember to have love. Love is the ultimate emotion, be it self-love or love for others. 

Sooner or later, some fucks need to be given. And it's entirely up to you.

www.Alden-Tan.com

Follow me here on Steemit! @aldentan

And upvote for me if you feel this post resonated with ya!

Support me here on Patreon if you like my writing!


Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this useful tip. I agree totally, we have been caring about what others think about us too much. And ironically, no one actually cares about others. I am not saying that we shouldn't care about what others think about us, but it is important to have our focus on those who we also care. Stop wasting energy on useless and

I think your last sentence hasn't been completed..

'Care for yourself, but care for others that are worth caring for" this could be the most truthful statement I have heard in a long time.

Wise words indeed! It's amazing how much caring about judgement from others stifles our own personal journey.

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.95
ETH 2351.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47