I sat beside a mentally slow girl on the train barely an hour ago

in #life8 years ago

She sat next to me. She kept mumbling to her mom who stood in front of her.

I didn't want to look up from my book and openly stare to see what she was mumbling about, but I gathered from her hand motions, it was about how her arm was itchy or that it had some marks on it.

The mom politely kept acknowledging her. Every time her daughter said something, which sounded more like a choir of "Ahh"than anything, she would nod.

Whenever I looked up a little, the mom caught my gaze, as if saying, "I know, I know."

When their stop arrived, the girl refused to get up.

The mom was trying to get her up patiently at first. Then she got frantic. She kept trying to coax her daughter, saying that 'auntie' was just waiting outside.

It didn't work.

The mom acted angry and scooted off to the door, hoping that the reverse psychology would scare her daughter into chasing her.

It didn't work either.

The mom came back, flustered. 

The doors closed and the train went on its course again.

This time, the mom used her phone to show her a picture of her birthday. "Look! It's your birthday! Remember?"

The girl was silent.

"Come on! I'll buy you a hamburger" said her mom.

The next stop came and the girl stood up silently and robotically. It was a success I guess, though it seemed like the daughter unknowingly decided to get up, just as how she unknowingly decide to sit down the whole way just now.

I glanced at them walking out. Then I went back to my book. I wondered if they decided to take another train back a stop or if the mom thought it was best to simply take a cab as it was easier.

But my wondering if none of their business.

The mom has my utmost respect.

I cannot imagine the amount of work she has to put in for her daughter who is different from the rest of us. I should think she gets tired and frustrated a lot.

Yet, I cannot imagine the amount of love she has for her flesh and blood.

That paradox right there is what we call love, unconditional love.

The mom is a heroine. No amount of success from money, career or status can ever match up to that.

Auntie, you've my respect. I am sorry if my looking seemed to rude to you. Please know that I did not mean any kind of disrespect. 

Thank you for having the courage to bring your daughter out. Thank you for the patience you put in her. 

It makes the rest of us know how beautiful life is and how grateful we should be.

And a lot of us take life for granted.

I wasn't trying to be rude, but others could be to you in your life, as I am sure you've gone through before due to horrible people around.

I hope you know that you're an inspiration. I hope you know how much your daughter loves you for whatever little pleasures she gets to enjoy because of you.

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42