About that time I quit Facebook and how you can too

in #life8 years ago

A couple of years ago, I left a message on Facebook. It read:

"So I've been thinking of this for a while, and I guess there'd never be a more perfect time.

I'm going to quit Facebook, hopefully for good.

I always felt that those people who quit Facebook or go on sabbatical were always over thinking it, that if you had to think about it, then yeah, you're probably spending too much time here. 

And I guess I'm one of them now.

I don't think I spend that much time here, but it's honestly not just a time or productivity issue. It irks me to always notice that whenever I come here for a "little update" I end up scrolling the feed for... pretty much nothing. And it repeats itself as I wonder why I'm so bored to checking for more updates to wondering again why I'm bored again.

The feed to me, has turned into nothing more than a stream of collective, rotten consciousness. Nothing seems to entertain me, much less inspire me. On the extreme end of the spectrum of what's being shared, my mood gets affected whenever I see something disturbing. 

The folly has always been mine that I let it get to me. Instead of self-evaluating, I rather choose to leave and find a better environment. 

I'll be sharing my blog posts here robotically from the blog itself, but there'll be no more comments or likes from me. Maybe I'll come back from time to time if there's an emergency or if I need to look for someone important. But if I can help it, I won't. 

Adios. I'm out. Peace."

Yup. That was how I left Facebook fora  couple of years or so.

Dramatic? Nah.

I felt I needed to.

As said, Facebook was rotten.

I got so sick of all the crappy, disturbing and disgusting posts being shared by my friends.

It was always some clickbait nonsense, bitchy posts ranting about others or some gory video.

I think on some level, all of us are being controlled by social media and the updates we crave for.

We've fallen into the trap of being validated by the currency that are Likes, Shares, Comments or the invisible approval of your 'friends' you think you're getting online.

Don't you think so?

When was the last time you watched a movie in its fullness so you could appreciate it for what it is, even if it's bad? When was the last time you watched something without checking your phone?

When was the last time you took a walk outside to be full-aware of everything around you?

When was the last time you had a real conversation with a friend, face to face and you were really into it?

If you answered, "I don't know" to any of the above, I dare say you're wasting your time glued to your computer or phone and denying that you're feeling bored.

Yes. You're in denial that you're bored. That means you're caught in the cycle of:

"I am bored. Let's see what's on Facebook/some website."

|

"Man, there's nothing entertaining online today."

|

Puts down phone or moves away from computer

|

"Man, there's nothing to do."

|

Checks social media instantly without thinking.

I believe we've all been there.

I am not trying to turn all of you into life hippies who hate technology.

Modern technology and the internet are great. We connect easier that way.

But too much of anything is never good.

Take a break! Get out there and open your eyes for real for the real things in life.

Want to start now? Here's how:

1) Delete the mobile apps

You don't have to go cold turkey immediately.

This was how I did it. I deleted the Facebook app on my iPhone. I only checked Facebook when I got home.

Slowly but surely, I found less need to check Facebook and it was easier to quit then.

2) Go read a damn book

A physical book you can buy or borrow from your library.

Because reading brings you places.

I don't care how much you hate reading or how bad you think our language skills are. You need to read.

Reading invokes your imagination and life. You need to start going back to your life.

3) Create art

I'm a Bboy and a writer. I create.

What are you creating? Are you expressing yourself? Are you putting your thoughts and feelings into something you can actually hold?

Start creating and don't stop. You can't create if you're addicted to social media. 

4) Treat social media only as a reward

As in, go back to it only after you've done your work.

Then at least, there's some fulfillment there.

As said, you don't have to go cold turkey yet. Hopefully as you get back to your life, you realize social media is just a small product for you to use, and not a lifestyle.

I am back on Facebook today.

But I am not addicted or anything.

I use it for promotional purposes and also to talk to some friends and readers of my blog.

Social media should just be a product. Not a lifestyle.

You lead your own life. Go for it.

Peace,

Alden

www.Alden-Tan.com

Sort:  

I too have noticed that Facebook seems to be the same stuff rehashed over and over again, it is all to easy to get 'lost in the feed', it seems to be like one is 'being fed' information as I belive some media is set to control Us. put forth by Them, but not as They want.

Up-voted and re-steemed! Im also using Face in that way, contact with family and some friends and promotion mostly.

Yes, there is ...
Only here is it worth so dramatically?
You can limit the time you can configure the communication only in the news, with it in a certain area ...
The question is not the FB, and the organization itself.
I spend an hour to a maximum of FB and not every day ...

Living life through the lives of others... the Facebook way.

Best dang reason to leave.

The hardest part of fb is finding how to DEACTIVATE your account!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28