A SIMPLE ORANGE AND KNIFE LESSON

in #life6 years ago

In my primary school days, I had this classmate who would beg virtually for anything anyone put in his/her mouth to eat or drink.

56112__131914__CLASS-8-BOYS.JPG
Source

All he had to see was you putting your hand in your mouth, even if it was a pretence, and you would hear .... "give me now, please" 🙏🏽.

His case was serious. And children, being what we were, we called him long-throat. As a grownups now, one may call his case gluttony or attribute it to parents' inability to provide him food or even give it a spiritual undertone. Hmm🤷‍♂.

But that's not my focus now my dear friends.
It's about one day after school when I went to the fruit seller to buy an orange. I collected the knife from her to cut the orange into 2 halves @ the middle.

IMG_20180707_130948_084.jpg
Source

As I was about to do the cutting, guess who I saw coming .... our guy 🏃🏽. Quickly, I changed the position of the knife, moved it higher up the side of the orange so that one part would be small & the other big. I knew he would beg. He did and I gave him the small part. God forgive me o 🙏🏽.

About 30 years after, while studying the Bible, God reminded me of that day & asked me to imagine Him God holding a knife & an orange. He asked "how would I share it with you?" Without hesitation, I answered "Ha, I know You God, You would cut it & give me the bigger part". He said no, i would throw the knife away & give you the whole orange. And he whispered "that's what I did for mankind."

Orange-whole.jpg
Source

I realised God has given us ALL of Himself. He made us in His own image(Gen. 1:26), gave us His only begotten Son(Jn. 3:16) and gave us His Holy Spirit(Jn. 14:16). PTL.

I hope you have also learned something from my experience.

Thank you for reading.
God bless you.

Sort:  

Amen brother @alabaodedina! A divinely inspired illustration of what He wants us to know beyond a shadow of a doubt.

Our Father withheld nothing and gave everything that could be given, so that we might be free of our bondage and enslavement to sin. And He wonderfully blessed us, on that fateful day in history, with our Lord's eternal words, "It is finished!"

What a wonderous, blessed eternal release from any notion we can possibly add anything to it, with our vain (in our pride) attempts to prove something. Only one thing then left to be done - submit and surrender to the Truth!

Yours in Christ, from "just around the corner" ... @roleerob 😊

Hebrews 10:23-25

We are glad you learnt from your relationship with your friend in school.

Thank you for sharing your story with Steemchurch
Upvoted and resteemed
AW

This is a lovely message.. God's love for mankind is unconditional, He has giving us a lot and he is ready to do more..... Thank you very much sir, God bless you

We mice love this story alabaodedina - thank you.

Wow!
I learnt a lot! Almost all of us are guilty of been possessive of what we are eating as a kid....
What a lesson......God is so kind, He wants the best for us.. ..That's why He said that "The thought He has towards us is of good and not for evil"
"If men who are evil knows how to give good thing to our children....how much more Him"
Thanks @alabaodedina for sharing.

Congratulations @alabaodedina! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88