AK Tiny Home Build (Part 6)- Interior Framing

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Since this a tiny home the interior framing section should be brief. The reason I say that is: there is a loft, raised kitchen floor and three small walls to frame. This is the part where I get to show how the inside of our home started to come together. Woo-Hoo!!!
IMG_2062.JPG
I want to apologize a head of time, there is not much room inside a 8 foot by 20 foot structure so most of the photos I took look a little cluttered. I will explain to the best of my ability what I'm talking about.
So, now that the disclaimer is out of the way.... on with the framing.
If you look at the picture below you can see there is snow outside and I still needed to insulate around the wheel wells. There is also no insulation where the plywood floor sits directly on top of the steel frame of the trailer.(see in part 2) My solution was to build two small pony walls to fill with more foam insulation. One for each side.
IMG_1210.JPG
You can see below that the pony walls are filled with foam. Well... you can kind of see.. those little walls are down there. Sitting over top of the pony walls is the beginning of my raised floor for the kitchen and the loft (our bedroom) is framed with the plywood floor attached.
IMG_1226.JPG
Look at the photo above...now imagine turning around.... The photo below is what you would see. In the right corner is where a shower/closet is going to be. On the left is the front door. There is a 19 inch rise from the subfloor (door level) to kitchen floor level.
IMG_1232.JPG
All the framing I did on the interior, except the pony walls, I used 2X4 on 16 inch centers. I also used 3 inch screws instead of nails.
IMG_1231.JPG
This is me, (Brandon) I'm real excited about building my first home. You can tell by my big cheesy grin. Look at me I'm not a robot.
IMG_1288.JPG
When I looked at the photo above and thought about what I was going to say here I started to laugh.(it's tiny!) You can see the plywood is down and there are to wall framed. This is why I laughed, the wall on the left is the kitchen wall and the tall wall is the shower/closet wall.
IMG_1289.JPG
You just turned around again.. On the left is the other kitchen wall....still laughing. Plus I installed some temporary stairs to the loft. ;)

Thanks again to all who made to the end!

If you have any questions or if I missed something please let me know. I will try to answer all questions.

If you missed the first 5 parts here they are: (part 1) (part 2) (part 3) (part 4)(part 5)

Thanks again Brandon and Lindsey

Sort:  

Super project! I'm waiting for the continuation :)

Thank you! ...working...

Awesome project! Can't wait to see it finished. I'm an OCD curator and I want to nominate this post to our daily compilation. This could get you more attention to your blog and maybe some extra votes. Reply if you accept.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


Want to support OCD? Vote for @ocd-witness Steemit Witnesses

We accept thank you!

What do you plan on using with the space under the raised floor?
Are you going to have hatches in the floor of a pantry?
Make some wheeled carts or drawer & rail system so you don’t waste any space. Would be great for blankets that you don’t use in the summer, and canned goods.

Under the floor is for storage of food and seasonal gear. Funny you mention hatches, it was one of my ideas, and drawer systems. We are tiny house peppers....so there are many 5 gallon buckets full of dried goods. Im sure canned goods will go down after our harvest. Thanks for the questions

Looking good! Wheel wells always seem to pose interesting challenges. Love the temporary stairs. Staying tuned...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88