You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Response to @lydon.sipe's "Yes, I am a Christian, and I Drink"

in #life7 years ago

A great topic you and @lydon.sipe have touched on here.
God doesn't call us into a life of legalism. That's a misconception the world has on Christianity, and unfortunately that includes many Christians as well. We are not bound by the law, but live freely in a life of grace.

I think this is one reason why Romans is my favorite book. Paul explains there that this doesn't mean we just ignore the law (desires of God) and do whatever we want. Many commenters touched on this--your desires changing and aligning with God's, where you just don't find the yearning to do the things you previously did.

I am in agreement with you and lydon. And like @negativer, I also brew.

It's when you allow alcohol to govern your decisions and actions greater than the influence of your Lord that you have fallen into the wrong. Also, when you suffer from alcoholism--or become dependent upon anything--it takes the place of God in your life. In my line of work I see people that live this way often. I don't intend to minimize their struggle, but personal accountability is a central factor. I believe God doesn't just make things happen for you unless you're willing to invest in it yourself as well.

Even Jesus himself said it wouldn't always be easy.

Sort:  

Thanks, @aksounder, for your very comprehensive comments.

This article was originally a direct response to Lydon's article, and after I put so much thought into it I decided that it ought to be an article on its own.

Yes, indeed, apart from the grace of God we would be pretty miserable. Our gratitude for his kind patience with us does motivate us to desire to please him.

I went and read that post by him, and several of his other recent posts.

Our gratitude for his kind patience with us does motivate us to desire to please him.

Indeed it does. And discovering the true joy in knowing him, understanding love, and loving others makes what we thought was enjoyable about sin so obviously weak and temporary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49