What Would Happen If a Plane Window Cracked Mid-Flight?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

As a child, I vividly remember peering out an airplane window on a trip to Seattle. When looking at the bottom of the window, I saw a small hole. I panicked, believing so much as a crack in the window would cause the plane to rip apart and send everyone aboard flying out, falling for miles toward the ground. Fortunately, I was told these holes were normal… However, what would actually happen if an airplane cabin was breached. If a window were to crack, we will assume that the break is not large enough to shatter the glass, but only allow air to escape from the cabin slowly.


Well fortunately, or unfortunately, we have a few examples of this scenario occurring in real life. For this article, we will look at the infamous Helios Airways Flight 522.

On August 14, 2005, over 100 passengers boarded this plane’s 7,550th flight leaving from Larnaca, Cyprus to Athens. Little did these passengers know that the aircraft’s pressurisation system settings were not properly configured. As the plane took off, the pressure inside slowly decreased. This alerted the pilot, who informed the Helios Operations Center via radio; however, due to symptoms of hypoxia (a lack of air), he was unable to properly follow orders. Soon after, oxygen masks were deployed for passengers and flight attendants. For some reason, the pilot never put on his mask.

The aircraft continued to climb altitude, reaching 34,000 feet on autopilot. Local air traffic control was unable to contact the pilot or crew. Without the direction of the captain, the plane continued on autopilot and flew over Athens. This alerted the flight attendants and prompted Andreas Prodromou, an attendant, to investigate the cockpit. He found the pilot unconscious due to a lack of oxygen. He then attempted to fly the plane. At this point, the engines had already begun to flame out without fuel. Because of the above factors, along with his inexperience at flying, the plane eventually crashed killing all passengers and crew.

In short, in the event of cracked window during flight, we can expect:
• Gradual cabin pressure decrease, leading to airmask deployment
• Alarms prompting pilots to land the plane
• Alerts to air traffic control to address the situation

Fortunately, most flights in this scenario would likely have a conscious pilot who can work with air traffic control to promptly land the plane. Although the flight would likely be terrifying, it is not necessarily life threatening.

By the way, if you were wondering the reason for the tiny holes on plane windows, they are actually in place to equalize the pressure between the cabin and the space between the window panes to prevent cracking/breaking!

Sort:  

Hey @aircastle I am going to take this opportunity not so much to comment on this post but to comment on your "Surviving Oompa Loompa's America" statement - which I LOVE and I totally GET IT - (living here in Denver, CO)I followed you on that statement alone - and that you are a college student and can see that is A MIRACLE. Assuming you are the "age" of most college students...

I am going to suggest you check out Mark Passio - maybe start with this if you have not already checked him out. I think it will bring you some new perspectives on things...

I look forward to seeing more of your work on here! I am going to read your post about crypto now.

Haha I appreciate that! It is a struggle out here 😂. I worked so hard for Bernie and Hillary's elections but, you know how that went. BTW I am 19.

It is crazy that you are from Denver, CO! That is where I am from. I moved away when I was young. I went back this summer, it has blown up in population and evolved. Not the same city I left.

I have never heard of Mark Passio. I will definitely give the video a watch, it seems interesting.

Thanks for your support!

Well good for you for working hard on something you believed in. It will be good practice for the future. Let me know what you think of that video. I liked it so much that I listened to all of his podcasts in order - and I really learned A LOT from that, let me tell you. It gave me a real basis of understanding and it also filled in blanks that I could not figure out on my own. He is in Philadelphia which he says is brimming with zombies as well. I used to live on the east coast before moving to Denver in 06. Denver is hell now - it was not like this when I moved here. If I could, I would go back to the sleepy little town I came from but I hear it is not sleepy anymore. i am not sure there is anywhere to escape to, hence my cleanse - Go within, or go without.

glad you were able to check him out! And I think you are right, but the control system wants us to violate natural law so that we pay the consequences and they can remain our masters... so if we were aware of natural law, we could slip out of their grasp!

It took me some time but I finally got through Mark Passio. He definitely brings up some interesting points. I think that knowledge in areas like this should be pushed more in our society. I definitely believe that there are natural laws that people unknowingly live by, and if they were made aware, their lives would be a lot more fulfilling and simple.

Thanks again for your recommendation!

If you've never read Airframe by Michael Chrichton, you definitely should. It's a fantastic novel that will make you realize just how much engineering goes into a plane, and why the media does us no favors when it comes to airfare news.

I just looked it up. It looks like a stressful, yet insightful read. I will add it to my reading list!

Congratulations @aircastle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65809.08
ETH 3604.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54