ABUSE

in #life7 years ago


Source

“There is a level of grief so deep that it stops resembling grief at all.”
–Elizabeth Gilbert

I stay in apartment number 5. Yaro Sheu’s has eleven apartments for rent. It’s the most popular block of apartments in Abinsi. There’s a gist around that Yaro Sheu made a lot of money by offering his butthole to rich politicians and that he is trying to make the story go away, –to deceive people into believing he made money from real estate. No one says any of these things in Yaro Sheu’s presence.

I have been living in the house for five months. I talk to few co-tenants in the house and I'm sure no one knows the colour of my carpet. The guy in the eleventh apartment, I don't know his name, if we ran into each other on the street I wouldn't even know we left the same house. Last night, I was chatting with a friend on Facebook when I heard loud cries. It's not my business that he was beating his girlfriend again, I have never seen her before too.

Other neighbours were at his door begging him to open up. I still minded my business. Then there was no wail, just the sound of his leather belt hitting her skin for about a minute. I was scared, I ran out of my room in my jim-jams. Then there was no sound for about another 2 minutes. The scariest night of my stay in the house, we —including the other neighbours who had been pounding his door and begging him— were scared.

Someone suggested we call the police, but we had no number to call. The same person volunteered to run to the police station, the rest of us were scared he would run away. From the police station he called to say there was only one police officer at the station who ordered that we bring them to the station. We feared the lady was dead. Then the volunteer returned with vigilantes, about eleven of them, who threatened to knock down the door, it was then that the neighbour opened.


Source

His girlfriend had fainted. Nobody wanted to touch her body curled in the corner of the room. The vigilantes made him carry her in his arms to the health centre where she was admitted. I was still outside with other neighbours when the vigilantes returned to the house with him, someone had called Yaro Sheu, and he was there too. The vigilantes questioned the eleventh apartment guy openly after we had been instructed to notify them in case he lies. We circled him as he answered questions about his relationship with the lady.

During the interrogation, a member of the vigilante group whose face I couldn’t make out in the dim light of night asked if he enjoys sex with the lady, the eleventh room guy looked at Yaro Sheu, his eyes were rheumy and his answer couldn’t cut through the silence of night as if he said the Yes without conviction. He was taken away after the interrogation.

This afternoon after her discharge from the health centre and the boyfriend's release, I passed her in the kitchen, she was cooking his food. He was yelling in a language I don't understand from his apartment. I didn't look at her face, we didn't say a word to each other, and we will continue to live like last night was my invention.

One out of every three women worldwide will be physically, sexually, or otherwise abused during her lifetime with rates reaching 70 percent in some countries.

It could be anyone. No one deserves to go through violence in their life. Take a stand and help end violence against women!

Thank you all for taking your time to read this.

@mr-aaron's poem was a great inspiration

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @addempsea to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Emotional, verbal + physical abuse is so real in so many Relationships. It ends with putting the highest love before anything less!

You are right, this is why we have to end this madness.

This is more than lovely
You captured what this women are going through
We all should advocate for the stop of the barbaric act
Glad you using steemit to achieve that.
Keep steeming

Yes boss, thank you for the comment.

Congratulations @addempsea! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is deep bro... I don't know how it feels for a human to abuse their fellow human.. But I pray God teach them to be human again cos they are not.
Merry Christmas

Thank you boss

Oh my god. Is this real? I cant upvote this im in shock. She was still staying with him?!?!? What about yaro??! Im so confused n shocked

She is staying with him because there is nobody to save her. This is an awareness to help the abused women all over the world.

Okay but where is the money for this story going? Because while its from your perspective, its her life. You are only a side character. You could raise funds for her, get her out of there, awareness is great but actions need to follow. If the money for this is just going to you then i feel you are taking advantage. Id love to support such efforts please help me trust and believe that this isnt just upvoting a story of woman abuse.

This story isn't fictional, but time , names and place have been changed. I didn't do anything then too. How can I raise money for her?

This posting is getting upvoted. Thats a start. Second, you can teach her how to get on steemit. Third, you can try to reach out and see if there are any abuse shelters or womens help agency near you. Posting her story and getting money in your own pocket isnt going to help her.

Getting merely upvoted. But, I'd try my best. Thanks for the concern.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43