White Water Rafting in California! 🌊

in #life7 years ago

I LOVE the water and water sports. It lights me up to share nature with other people, and to connect them with our water cycle, environment, and human impact. That's why I'm a white water raft guide.

Some of the people who come rafting have lots of experience, are very fit, and have a huge adrenaline addiction. Others do not know how to swim, are quite frightened, and are incredibly out of their element. Scared people always make the day so much more exciting!

When we are going down the river, I am the rudder, and my paddlers are the engine. Its the ultimate team sport; we all work together to safely navigate treacherous rapids.

Its an incredibly committing experience. Once we take off, there is no way for someone to bail and go home.

Common citizens emerge into brave river warriors.

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif
This is a rapid called Satan's Cespool. The whole river gets really narrow and creates a HUGE hole!


Thanks for reading and supporting my unconventional journey!
Love,
@AcroButterfly

Sort:  

That gif is enough for me to sit next to the photographer. Lol

Lol meaning you wouldn't want to go rafting?!

Were you one of the kids in the Captain Planet team haha? Love your photo here. I've been on hikes and loved them. I've been a wilderness camp counselor for years. But have not done rafting like you but maybe someday. Looks exciting. Thunder in Paradise exciting. I'm Oatmeal.

Congratulations @acrobutterfly! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85