Help. My psychologist is very stupid.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

red-nose-clown-hed.jpg

How would you define a good psychologist? Does he know how to solve your emotional problems? Does he have any experience whatsoever on how to treat people and on how to make them feel better? Well, the one I had didn't do any of that.

I was PURE THEATRE.

At my high school we are allowed to have an appointment with the psychologist that works there when we feel down or we have a lot problems at home etc. I have gone a couple of times in the past and what he normally says to you since the beginning is:

"I know when you are lying. Don't try to. I'm here to help."

But the man doesn't even know how to lie or understands when someone is lying.

I went to him yesterday since I wanted to prove this right. When I arrived at his office and we started to chat, he began with the same phrase as if he thought I didn't know already, using his pretty face:

![organizational_psychologist.jpg]

"Remember, I know when you lie youngblood. Ok?"
"Sure." I responded, but in my mind I thought: "Let's see."

So I started to talk about leaving home and how I wanted to escape since a long time for different reasons (even though none of those are true). I had already created this story long before and I only rehearsed it for this particular day. I went through it all and he started to recommend some stuff that didn't even get to the topic.

For example:
-I told him: "It's just that my parents don't hear me anymore and they are just pushing me to do things I don't want to (including some tears of course).
He responded: "Well, you should work for them. Why wouldn't you."
And here is where I knew.
I said: "Because I'm going through a lot of pressure deciding which career I want to study and if I'll be able to pay for it (which is really happening).
He only looked at me and said: "I'll give you a slap if you continue saying that."

Here I knew that he never read Freud, or Carl Jung, or even heard about Jordan Peterson (and probably didn't even finish the career). If he had read about their work(and I know I have, at least a little) he would know that when a patient is reaching to a psychologist, he already has some problem to fix, right? SO in response to that, the psychologist should in fact make himself as moldeable as possible in order to relate with the patient and therefore it could be easier for both the patient and the psychologist.

More like this:
clinical-psychologist-with-young-patient.jpg

Instead of this:
Skills-to-be-a-Psychologist-e1419021175701.jpg

He might have had the best intentions and everything, but he also needed to DEMONSTRATE the best intentions as well. If there is any psychologist here on Steemit, please LEARN from this.

There are already a lot of bad psychologists in this world who become the reason of why people don't reach for help or who end up worsening people out.

Let's be the change we want to be.

Thanks for reading and have an awesome day.

Sort:  

Any person who goes to a psychologist thinking they are going to get the solution to their problems from them is sorely mistaken. And any shrink who says they can solve peoples' problems for them is lying. All we can do for one another is stimulate thought and ideas so each individual can awaken to the solution themselves. ONE of the two beings must, though, have an accurate perception of reality, and the person who is requesting the thought stimulation must always pursue wanting to know TRUTH and making the adjustments in their own minds and lives to accurately pursue perceiving truth. If one of the two do not have that than one is just lying to themselves and the other is just stealing your money. Most do not want SOLUTIONS, many just want to pay someone to listen to their bullshit, and fool themselves into thinking they really want a solution, when in fact, THEY DO NOT! They have entitlement mentalities and are looking for someone to rationalize their excuses, because they are lazy and do not want to get off their asses and do what it takes, which is what winners do. They do what it takes and then live with the consequences, positive and negative, with no excuses and move forward. THERE ARE NO GUARANTEES IN LIFE, if that's what you are looking for, Wake UP!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98