You don't get sober and close all the bars

in #life5 years ago

Blessed are the ones that aren't addicted to anything or don't eat or smoke anything in a compulsive way, because they are the strong ones, and they shall live in Heaven forever, if they don't do that already. Not like we, the addicted ones, will get to hell, but who doesn't have an addiction of any sort nowadays? Not me, and I have quite a few to begin with.

To give you just two example I will point out sugar and my smartphone. Not one day passes by, without getting my share of sweets, or draining the battery for hours on simply nonsense smartphone usage, because that's what my smartphone usage is really about. The productive activities, such as reading, informing myself on what's going on in the world or blogging, is just about 5% of my times spent online.

The rest is just useless scrolls and refreshes. Same as with sugar. Yes, you won't die if you eat a cookie once in a while or drink a Cola, but daily, it's not healthy at all and to enumerate all the cons of excessive sugar consumption would definitely need an entire post. I've tried though, but used the aggressive and deemed to fail strategy. The one of avoidance.

As Charlie Sheen seen said when talking about his sobriety while making commercials for Tequila, you don't get sober and close all the bars. It's impossible. Hiding behind the world's curtain and closing your eyes every time you pass by a bar won't get you sober. It might help at the beginning, but after a while you need to face your demons, see their weakness and pass by, and that requires strength.

wine-1509590_1280.jpg
image source

I mentioned about sugar, because a few days ago I went shopping, mostly for Christmas, and I ended...somehow, buying a lot of sweets, along with the food that I need, although I haven't intended to. Among chocolate and yogurts, I got home with a six cans pack of Pepsi. I don't even remember when I had, the last time, that much Coke near me. I usually buy one once in a while, but even if it's not a Coke a day, there is something else to take its place in the daily sugar dose. Something to fill the space.

I am trying to quit sugar, as much as possible or even entirely, for years, and always fall for the temptation. I know why I want it, I know it's achievable, but I simply haven't quit it yet. I will for sure succeed and I know how. I will live simply with it, or around it. Yes, let the cans stay on the shelf, let the sweets stay by them. I don't have to close the bar, right? I just have to live with it and pass by.

No, I won't throw everything to the garbage, like I did in the past, because it doesn't work that way. I will instead consume my addiction, consciously, and moderately until there won't be an addiction anymore. That's what many addicts, worse than me, lack when trying to get rid of a bad habit. Being conscious about their addiction, getting to understand that it is all mind related, and it is just a neuronal circuit that has to be re-wired, and that's more than enough.

Throwing away your cigarettes won't help, you'll buy others. Shutting down the phone won't help, you'll miss important calls and conversations. Living with that last cigarette in your pack, while still having it in your pocket and refuse to burn it, is the road to success, and that's what I learned from a friend of mine yesterday while telling me about trying to quit smoking. He simply refused to either smoke or throw away the pack with that one last cigarette.

Instead, kept it in the pocket, done his duties and whenever the urge arose, he continued doing what he was engaged with. He simply acknowledged it, reminded himself of what he aims at, and passed over that urge. It's not simple, I know. If he would have thrown the pack away, he probably would have bought another one, but keeping that last one close to him made him stronger and determined to quit. You know, we have in here that saying: keep your friends close and your enemies even closer.

It takes some discipline though to quit an addiction and very often discipline consists of sticking to the plan and replacing the addiction's ingredients with healthier ones. You can't just fill that addiction's space with void. You need to fill that with something good, or at least better, and believe me, there are tons of alternatives.

Now, I know that this post might have been one of the most boring ones that you just read, if you bothered to read it entirely, but it is somehow written for me rather than you, as my self motivation letter that I can open when getting close to the can or the cake. I need to get rid of some addictions, I need to face some demons, and I need to become more disciplined. Probably that's why I spent that much time typing this, when I should actually go to sleep. Something is definitely ignited...

Thanks for attention,
Adrian

Sort:  

You mentioned the D word. Discipline. Easy to say, not so beast to consistently have. We all suffer with the temptation of something enjoyable whether it's sugar, alcohol or any other thing. I think the key is finding it more important not to have the thing, that it is to have it...Again, easily said.

Good luck...I struggle with the same things so know how hard it can be.

Thanks. Isn't finding that not having the thing being more important than having the thing discipline disguised?

It can be...I guess it's different for everyone. For me, a diabetic, I know what the end result of eating sugar will be...So, I have the choice to make...Make having the sugar more important, or make my life more important. Seems a simple choice. Not always so simple for everyone though.

You do what needs to be done. I know not one, but two diabetics which continue to eat sweets regularly. :(

Oh, that's maybe not the best thing to do although maybe they know something I din't know about diabetes. Anyway, it takes all sort of people and they might have different life-goals than I do. I wish them all the best and also thank you for taking the time to comment.

Yeah... They seem not to be able to control themselves, one is also very stubborn.

I wonder how stubborn he will be when they have to remove his leg through poor circulation, or he has a heart attack...Still, if he wants to prioritise sugar over his life it's his prerogative isn't it?

The problem is, he already knows what can happen. There was another case he knows close where diabetes led to practically all major organs failure and death.

That one was even more stubborn. He refused to go to any doctors or take a treatment.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Have you tried with fruits to compensate for the need of sugar? When I eat enough fruits I don't need processed sugar at all or less, depending on the quantity of fruits and my needs of fructose / glucose I guess.

I've tried with honey as well. I guess I wasn't too determined.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Who does that?

I tried it once. Although it's not great to listen to an article narrated by a machine, someone driving a lot might choose that option. Not sure why it has 0 reputation though right now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65663.89
ETH 2670.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91