How much do we google and how much are we googled...?!

in #life5 years ago

Duck Duck Go is a privacy oriented browser and it's available in app store, play store and as an extension for Google Chrome, but how many of you know about it and use it? I found about the duck quite recently and I was that lazy I haven't even installed it. Why? Because I am too comfy with the good old google. The pal that knows everything about me and has always a helping hand when I most need it.

Well, not everything, but it knows my name, my gmail address, my phone number, mails I've sent and received, videos I watched on Youtube, it knows where I live because I want to get back home quickly while using the google maps, it knows where I worked and it knows almost anything that I've searched on the web and has almost all of my "virtual steps" tracked...just in case.

spider-silk-1287407_1280.jpg
image source

Why? Because I gave it my consent. I wanted the convenience of having a simple life with everything at a touch of a button or an inch of a screen. I almost forgot. There is one more reason for why google does all of the things I wrote above. Because it is free, making me a product and selling me to advertisers and who knows who else.

Does it bother me that much that it tracks my ass and much more of me almost every second I am using my smartphone or my laptop or even just by carrying them? Not really because I've got nothing to hide but I wished it didn't. I can delete all of the data that the giant has about me and I've done that in the google account at the My Activity section by hitting Delete activity by but that is just temporary.

As soon as I open the search bar or go to youtube I'll start a new set of trails that need a delete once in a while and the story goes on. I could delete my google account, give up on gmail, youtube and stop using google maps but what's the point of living the modern world then. I could sell my smartphone as well and take the Nokia 3310 out of the shelf if I would want to go back to the 90's and "live free again". I am keeping calm and googling though...

But I know about google that it knows everything about me and I know what a good pal he is.... It wouldn't be the first one of this kind. It is googling us with our consent though and the "spider web" that it it's creating is getting thicker and thicker and stronger and stronger. It's part of living the modern life though and it's hard to be an outsider nowadays. Almost impossible. Something like cutting out sugar...or even worse. It's everywhere and sometimes you've ate it without even knowing it...

Thanks for attention and have a great day!
Adrian

Sort:  

I Google a lot! Working out in the middle of nowhere, I use Google maps daily, plus I search at least a couple times a day...

So you are right - they probably know more about me than even those who are close to me do.

Scary, if I think about it, but hard to give up the convenience.

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed. I google a lot as well and I know at the same time what google really is, what it's doing and somehow what it's up to as well. It has got under our skin and I don't think we will be able to get it out any time soon. Probably never. Moreover it has "pals" that complete its work and one is working on its own cryptocurrency...

@acesontop You cannot agree more with you! I don't understand the paranoia around data privacy and tracking. Yes, we can be tracked and some intelligent hackers can took our data and misuse it, can happen to anyone, but absolutely most of us are not subject of authorities investigation, so we can be more or less fine with it

Posted using Partiko Android

We can be more or less fine with it but it's our privacy after all and in most of the cases people don't even know how much google knows about them. Too few have a look at terms and conditions and other account options.

Yes and it is completely weird to me, because everyone is fighting for the privacy but blindly accepting everything. Basically Google knows where are you right, where you most probably would be tomorrow and next week, unless you turn off geolocation and restrict permissions you gave to it. Even after that I am still not sure we not passively tracked behind the scenes...

Posted using Partiko Android

Even after that I am still not sure we not passively tracked behind the scenes...

You bet we are

Corporation is corporation and data is the most valuable asset, so I think we are tracked but this data is stored on the device and the moment we check the permission back all this data is flowing back to them.
But it is a guess, I don't have enough expertise to said that 100%

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50