Steem Basic Income and Steem Monster Pack Contest. [It was never mine to keep anyway]

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever felt like dust? I’ve been sitting here staring at a blank page for about ten minutes, trying to think of a contest. I wanted to do a riddle, like the one I did last week, or maybe a steem monsters inspired writing contest, something to give away a pack of steem monsters cards, and also (inspired by an Epic steem basic income contest that I came across) five shares of SBI. There’s not a whole lot going on in my wallet right now so I have a budget of 7 Steem. Two shares to @honeysim because I like her, and five to give away.


source

I can’t seem to think past this feeling though. It isn’t quite a happy feeling, or a sad feeling, or an angry feeling. It isn’t a feeling that has a simple word association, at least not one that I know. It feels like… A dark abandoned attic where the air is musty and rich with age, where you can see by the light shining through cracks in boarded windows countless haunted relics of worlds past.

And you can see them as they are, covered in white sheets and layers of time… you can see them as they were, you can see the ghosts they hold. Memories: A couple dancing while gazing fondly into each other’s eyes to crooning, scratchy Christmas music, new love. A small child laughing as he pedals a bright red tricycle in chase of a happy, bouncy golden dog. A final tear stained bedside goodnight. You can see the life of every object as spiders spin webs between them…


source

A morning dove coo’s from the rafters and you can hear the tune of an old music box soft and slightly out of key, you can hear aches in the joints of the house groaning against the soft breeze as it comes into your place with a low whistle, bringing with it the smell of springtime. Damp earth, morning dew, and lilacs. With semi conscious awareness you realize that you are not in this place of in-between, this place where the lines between past, present, and future have blurred so much that the three converge, melting into one. This place where time is making fools of us again. You do not leave footsteps, there is no quiet breath. Almost as if your self has broken down, dissipated into the air. The only physical aspect; a heart lying on the floor, gently, slowly, still beating, pulsing your life force into it. You are not in this place.

You are of this place. You are the dust dancing in sunbeams, floating suspended at the will of the breeze. Neither here nor there, simply a witness to these ghosts… moments that defined entire lives, entire worlds, moments that are everything and nothing at all. Neither lost or found simply waiting to find their place. There is no thought, but there is knowing. You know that you can not be dust forever, that you can not continue to exist in this way. The heart beat slows. You know that if you stay you will settle in an eternal embrace with these ghosts. You know that you’ll be here with them, of them, forever. A forgotten memory.

You know that the memory you’re holding onto was never yours to keep, and yet you can’t let go.


source

So I suppose dear readers what I would like from you in exchange for SBI shares is a memory. Lend me a memory to witness, and so it with feeling. I have five shares budgeted, so, depending on how many comments… If I receive one reply, you get all five shares. If I receive two responses the rewards will be 3 shares, and 2 shares. If I receive three or more responses, shares will be 3 shares, 1 share, and 1 share. All based on my preference. Shares will be awarded in seven days when this post pays out.

The first person to find my Harry Potter reference gets a free steem monsters booster pack.

Sort:  

I never watched much of the Harry Potter movies so I couldnt find the reference lol

Haha it's actually more geared towards bookies really. I have made it a bit tricky, but please feel free to leave me a memory for SBI shares.

This gave me a Titanic moment....'i'll never let goooo". Very deep....I hope that gap will be filled with personal or vicarious memories as you so desire. Thank you for the love and support @accio.

I am not able to find the reference either...not that big a fan of Harry Potter 0.0

Thank you <3

Maybe I've made the Harry Potter reference too difficult? Hmmm.

I have only read one book so doubt it would be fair for me to say that lol

What you wrote above could have passed for a poem, in fact I see it as such.

Memory : My innocence.
I can vividly remember those days when we were too young to bear grudges, we know no difference between good and evil, only when spanked do we come to realize that. A child can give his food to the devil without fear, we were a tabular rasa, the time when childhood was bliss, calm and fun. The time when we had a guardian angel 😇. Will I go back In time? Will that solve my fantasy? No! Life is calibrated by time and it's supposed to be lived forward.

Sorry I couldn't get the Harry Potter thing.

Thank you for your kind words and participation dear :) lovely comment!

1 share winner

Waoh 😱, congratulations 🎊 to me.

Thanks and thanks a lot. It means a lot to me.

I guess Morning Dove is Harry Potter related.

Nope, good try though!
(You can guess as many times as you'd like.)

Loading...

I actually sat down and binged watched those movies just to see what all the fuse was about at the time. The truth ... I can barely remember much about them so I would have an easier time finding a needle in a haystack.

A memory that I have that has always been stuck in my head is of an amazing beach I visited when I was just 6 - 7 years old but I can not remember the name of it.

Thank you for your memory (and the books are better).

That`s what everyone keeps telling me.

1 share winner

Hint for anyone interested:

The hidden reference is a quote from the sixth book, spoken by the headmaster.

lol then it is the pensive.

1st is of course Headmaster Dumbledore's pensive. The idea of being able to extract memories and store then and to be later retrieved and reexprienced with other people being able to do the same and he can do that to others as well. Of being in a memory that is not his.

You're so close its right there, the quote is in the context

You know what you were so close and I realize I should be little softer on the HP references because not everyone has the books memorized lol so the reference quote I put in is "... time is making fools of us again."

Dumbledore says it to Harry after a trip through the pensive, so... you get the pack :)

Thank you so much Accio and I got these! Accio.JPG

Finally a blue summoner!! You gave me a lucky pack :)

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

There are two days to go but hopefully we get more contestants for you!

This contest has been placed in the Steemgigs Contest Channel which has over 5000 members and will be presented in a compilation post on the weekly Talk with Terry Show every Sunday 12:00 AM Manila Time.
I will endeavor to join all contests left there or at least make a small upvote and add on the compilation post.

Steemgigs Contest Channel link
https://discord.gg/ajnWGxJ

Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33