A conversation about priorities. How does a priority even make a difference ?

in #life-story7 years ago (edited)

I have reason to convey that priorities do indeed make an enormous difference in one’s life.

Priorities, are nothing but tasks, activities or goals arranged in the order of importance suffice to say that the ones that feature on the top most are of highest importance and the lowest, well Who cares ? They aren’t important.

This whole agenda revolving around ‘what are priorities ?’,‘how should they be enforced upon’ and ‘who is acting on it’ forms a substantial amount time work that goes into it.

Let’s use Maslow’s Hierarchy to determine what our priorities are.
MaslowsHierarchyOfNeeds.svg.png

Physiological needs
Safety needs
Social belonging
Esteem
Self-actualization
Self-transcendence

We have 168 hours in a week which is equivalent to 10,080 minutes.
In a 40 hour workweek, that’s 2,400 that is being spent on earning food, clothing and shelter for our family’s basic needs.

This takes the largest spot on Maslow’s hierarchical needs triangle, physiological needs.

Physiological needs are the physical requirements for human survival.
In an average Joe scenario, Joe’s basic needs are met and he’s looking to grow, rightly when someone asks:

Where is the rest of your time spent on ?

Time spent is the absolute proof that something genuinely does matter to you.
Time is irrevocable. Time decides to go on nevertheless.

What is it that we need or so desperately want that would get us utilizing our time ?

This is where the whole concept of priorities come in.
Our only immaterial resource in this tiny world is our time, that is fucking precious.

Plan to utilize time in what matters to you.
There are a multitude of things out there in this world today and we want to either be or have all of them.
I think that’s pretty stupid.
I believe we should decide on what we want, how we could get it and spend time working on getting it.

A friend of mine, Mike rightly said,

If you spent sufficient time on anything, you’ll be great at it. You don’t have to love it, but you’ll be great at it.

The path of getting what you want or need begins with knowing what that is.
One can’t necessarily shoot a target if they can’t see it.

Decide on what you want.
Draw a road map which leads you to getting what you want
Spend time executing it to eventually get what you wanted.

How does priorites help again ?
Priorities give us a clear goal as to what we so innately want.
Priorities help us focus on what we’re supposed to work on to get what we want.
Priorities help justify our time being spent.

At the end of the day,
There is no use crying over spilt milk.
There is no use crying over lost time.

As for me, I like building things. I want to study at MIT because that’s where I’d grow the most. I saw people at MIT work on
their projects immersed in what they were doing. They were captivated in their work. I’ve wanted that for so long that it no longer is just a want but a need. I need to get into MIT to make this world a better place by building more, by innovating more and by making this world a better place. I took a decision on the 31st of December 2016 to be the best version of the person I possibly can be by the next year and everyday today I work on it, I work towards it to make it a reality. I work on web development for it helps me communicate my thoughts and ideals to the world and helps sustain my primary needs on Maslow’s triangle.

I’m on the journey of being the best version of the person I can be.
My calendar can be found at Alamoor at Belavadi.com

La mission est sacrée, tu l’exécutes jusqu’au bout, à tout prix!
Translated: “The Mission is sacred, you shall execute it at all costs !”
-The Legionnaire ‘s Code of Honor

References:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maslow%27s_hierarchy_of_needs
Prahalad Belavadi

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @prahaladbelavadi I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Nice, a new Steemian, more or less ^^ Hi @Prahaladbelavadi I hope you have fun on Steemit. feel free to contact or follow me at any time :-) Cheers @chrisx

glad to see you Prahaladbelavadi I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

Hello @prahaladbelavadi. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Hi Prahalad! Welcome to Steemit! Great entry post! I happen to completely agree with you and am proof that priorities can change and shape your life. I believe that by adjusting our wants and needs and mapping them out appropriately, all that's left is to achieve them! I love how you bring Maslow into things because it's true, we all are striving to meet our basic needs. I hope that we can find better and more innovative ways to meet those needs :)

Welcome again, hope you're having a wonderful time getting used to the community!
XO,
💜 2 💜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76