You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHAT'S IN MY LIBRARY CHALLENGE

in #library6 years ago

I'm still dealing a bit from being a proud veteran, to one realizing War is a Racket. I've not read the book you quoted, but it looks very good. The first book I read that opened my eyes was about Japan and the atom bombs. Reverse shadows imprinted in the concrete from the blast as it vaporized the human casting the shadow. Whew! It's one thing when warriors battle, but killing civilians goes against my grain.

  • Up until I discovered Tolkein, the best author I had read was Vonnegut. Kurt's books were fun and thought provoking, but Tolkein put me right there in the story. And what a great story he told! I also own all the LOTR DVDs, extended editor's cut. It is a story I can enjoy time and time again.
    • Your selection fits exactly who I've come to know in the short time since we met. You know... Had you had a book about how to trim a Poodle, I would have been totally surprised! haha
      • It really is true when "They say you are the books you read..."
  • Thanks for sharing!

Good luck contestant #9 in the contest!

Sort:  

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention another favorite " From Mutt to Poodle in Two Days", by Ima Hownd. Yes, I know it is a difficult pill (red) to swallow to discover war is a racket. Blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58