You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where Adams and Jefferson were wrong

in #liberty7 years ago

I am in a bit of disagreement with your great post. I want my liberty and I wish to have to not ever study war and politics. I rather spend my time on things I consider better. War is an unnecessary evil bestowed upon mankind. Why must we not choose from amongst us those suited best to deliver in action and pay them handsomely. I only say this because I have been involved in wars and I see that as a part of my life wasted and humanity wasted. I wish I had taken that time to learn to play guitar or just travelled or something else.
If by study you mean have a basic knowledge of it, then I agree. I wish to see more people studying arts and sciences and less people studying war and politics.
I like J. Adams a lot and I think his heart was in the right place.

Sort:  

If by study you mean have a basic knowledge of it, then I agree. I wish to see more people studying arts and sciences and less people studying war and politics.

IF a basic knowledge takes care of the need, that is good

IF you can trust the men best suited to be defenders, then that is good.

Those are judgements you must make for yourself.

I understand your reservations, and I am sorry that you have had those painful experiences.

Thank you for sharing them and your view.

Don't wanna study war no more. I agree with that, no question.

It's the guiding philosophy behind all of it that we need. If self defense, physical or intellectual, is not studied, then anyone who wishes can take away our liberty with the weapons of war and the chains of politics.

Luckily, the very same philosophy that applies to war and politics, applies to the study of sciences and the arts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57930.87
ETH 2362.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36