You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Do Not Need Government in Your Wedding - Why My Husband and I Do Not Have a Marriage Licence

in #liberty8 years ago

Thanks for answering my request for comment on this subject of stateless marriage. (I wish that your post got paid more than my original question, but alas, such is the nature of Steemit.)

I have never been married (with or without state involvement), but I remember when I lived with a partner for a year before that relationship ended. Breakups are challenging enough, but I don't even want to imagine how difficult it would be breaking up through the legal process of divorce and trying to get the state not to point its guns at you (or your partner or kids) for simply ending or redefining a relationship. State-sanctioned marriage is like Steem Power, quick and easy to get in and not quick or easy to get out, by design of those who created it to keep people invested in the system.

I heard one person (I don't remember who) say once, "Laws are for people who are not in relationship." I could say the same for the state since those who interact voluntarily with each other can define their own rules without forcing anyone to opt-in. Kudos to you and John for defining your relationship without state permission.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50