That's not a duck

in #liberty6 years ago

Image

I've said it before and I'll say it again: if something doesn't fit the minimum definition, then it isn't the thing being discussed. No matter how much someone might invoke the "No true Scotsman" fallacy to try to make you ashamed of noticing.

Ducks are not mammals, even if one type of mammal has a bill and lays eggs.

A knife is not a dill pickle, even though I can imagine ways to make a knife out of a dill pickle.

And people who don't at least reject the initiation of force (more generally: archation) are not libertarians.

This includes those initiations of force and property rights violations they really like and support. Things like "taxes", "tax farm borders", and other property violations; arrests, imprisonment, and other forms of aggression.

They might be really close to being a libertarian in most ways, but just like an ichthyosaur was really close to being a dolphin in a lot of ways, the differences blow the comparison to pieces. The differences break the definition.

Yes, I know recognizing this is intolerant of me. I'm not saying I can't work with them where we agree, even while pointing out why they aren't what they claim to be.

Thank you for helping support KentforLiberty.com.
Donations and subscriptions are always appreciated!

Sort:  

That reminds me of the story of Plato defining "man" as "a featherless biped" to the applause of other philosophers. Then Diogenes the Cynic plucked a rooster and brought it to Plato's school. Holding it up, he said, "Here is Plato's man!"

Currently losing my shit at this.😂😂😂😂

🤔🤔🤔

I hope the story is true, but it was written several hundred years after Plato's time if memory serves, so it's probably as accurate as George Washington and the cherry tree.

I was there. Saw it myself. Both of them.

Is this your song, then?

No sir, that's my gandpappy. He was kinda a big deal.

You remember it? how old are you?

lol

I was born about 10,000 years ago, and there's nothing in this world I do not know! :D

Cool! - tell me where i get some cheap dice within 10 miles of where I live....? lololol.

I may have slightly stretched the truth in my previous comment. Depending on int'l shipping costs, I may be able to solve your dice problem though. Contact me on steem.chat?

posting cost's (US?) would make them more expensive, but thanks for the offer matey.
(I was being over dramatic, it's not that bad - but I wasn't gonna tell you that before I asked the question. lol)

I came here for something funny about a platypus.

Politics are not the same as platypusses, even if they're both weird. ;)

Congratulations @dullhawk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75