You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Current State of Seasteading: Building Permanent Oceanic Colonies

in #libertarianism8 years ago

Years back, I picked up this book called The Millennial Project: Colonizing the Galaxy in Eight Easy Steps, and the first chapter was about seasteading. Coolest book I'd ever seen. The seasteading updates were awesome. I upvoted the content and will be featuring it on my daily hidden gems blog. Look forward to hearing more from you.

Sort:  

I have that same book. The most interesting part to me was farming algae as a source of cheap protein.

I thought the spirulina farming was cool (though green bread was a bit odd to me), but it was the concept of seacrete to have calcium depose o electrodes and actually "grow" concrete structures that absolutely grabbed my imagination. I have been hoping to hear about this becoming a reality for such a long time. I am very optimistic about Blueseed and their approach to seasteading. I'd be curious to see if a hot war in the Sea of China changes anything. Hopefully it remains a curiosity.

I read that book. I thought it was very interesting. This was in the time before the age of the internet and finding more information was very difficult. (I particularly liked the Magnus Airship)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63152.69
ETH 3233.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45