You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: McDonalds Automation

in #libertarian6 years ago

Huh? Fancy restaurant? McDonalds? You may be are being sarcastic. I am pretty sure I’m not gonna take my wife on a date to a fine dining restaurant that has a touch screen. Fine dining restaurant servers are trained in Wine, up selling liquor etc. McDonalds cashiers are trained in smiling and taking orders, and 9 out of 10 times they get the smiling part wrong. So I’ll be fine with the interaction when the drop the food at my table, and I say thank you.

Sort:  

I'm just saying the rollout of touch screens will start at McDonald's, and could make it's way to some restaurants. Hopefully the food industry doesn't go overboard.

Chili’s has done it also, they still have waiters but if you go you can order and pay with a little iPad looking thing at the table. I just think the people who prefer a certain level of service will avoid those restaurants, and a person who doesn’t care will frequent other restaurants. I don’t think it’s a matter of “going overboard”, it’s a way to control costs, while still providing a product people want. Automation is not necessarily bad, if the services provided get better. If people value the human interaction, that is a service demanded. So if they got rid of cashiers, and only had a few food deliverers, wouldn’t that allow for a much friendlier interaction? The person is less stress, a huge line does not force them to rush you through your order, and they can drop your food to you with a smile, and maybe ask if they can get you anything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31