libertarians unite!

in #libertarian8 years ago

Hello, my name is Grant. I was raised as a conservative baptist but when i was about 12 years old I started to become a libertarian. I've always been fiscally conservative but as I got older I started to become socially liberal. I started to become more open minded and accepting of people. The first issue that started changing my political beliefs was gay marriage followed by Marijuana legalization. I originally thought that all hell would break loose if both of these things were legalized but soon found out that it really didn't matter. I started to learn that people should have the freedom to do what they want to themselves and their body. I started learning about many different liberty concepts and great thinkers such as Miltion Friedman and Ayn Rand. The non-aggression principal was very important to me. I figured out that capitalism improves our standards of living and gives people incentive to do their best. As time went on I had many liberal and Keynesian teachers that I would argued with about anything from gun control and the death penalty to social programs and taxes. Going to a Chicago Public School there were many of them. As I continue my life i like to spread the ideas of freedom and liberty to all (especially Bernie's supporters)
How did you become a Libertarian? Which Liberian views do you disagree with and why? comment!

Sort:  

I became a libertarian about the age of 12. It began by questioning my religious beliefs. I remember going over all the why's and what's but specifically "what gives me the right to ----?" Most of the time that blank was "preach my religion to others." Despite my religion saying god/leaders command you to, I came up with "I have no right."
Things started to fall in place from there. Who has the right to tell me to do this, to do that? Or even deeper, what is the intent and desired results that whatever is trying to achieve?

Same it's almost like telling people what they could eat just because you're on a diet. I'm an atheist now.

Congratulations @lmao! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @lmao! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56709.98
ETH 2329.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37