You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Transgender: Ask Me Anything - What questions might Steemit users have but been afraid to ask?

in #lgbt8 years ago (edited)

I found this post interesting and informative. I don't usually cross paths with people like you, so I appreciated getting a bit of the inside perspective. I don't have any particular questions right now, but wanted to say I did learn something from the article.

Sort:  

@wiser I promise you have NEVER crossed paths with anyone like @sykochica. They don't make them like her. Hell she had to make herself.

I approve this message

sychochica is well.. brilliant!!!!

I understand, it's not something we're presented with often.
Glad that it was informative! That's a win in my book.
And no worries on questions, this is now on the blockchain. Lol

I did think of one question, maybe a complex one. Do you often interact with people whose religious convictions do not allow for acceptance of the change? So, if you were born biologically a man, then that would be your gender for life, according to these convictions. How do people from that background relate to you: will they use the pronouns that match how you present? Or do they insist on using the pronouns corresponding to gender you were created with (as shown by the usual way new parents identify their baby as a boy or girl)?

I got very lucky that I was raised, and the majority of my extended family are, reformed Jews, who are typically very accepting to the LGBT community. Most of the 'bible thumping' I've seen has been from fundamentalist Christians. (The city I live in is in the buckle of the bible belt has the world headquarters of the Assemblies of God church.)

While I have not had to deal with any issues directly (I should also note that I have at best labeled myself agnostic for a long time,) I do know many that have and do deal with things like this.

Before going to far, I want to note that this is not a blanket statement for all Christians or Fundamentalist Christians. I've met many good hearted and well meaning people who self identity into either of these groups. During the period between LGBT non-discrimiation laws being passed and then repealed (which I wrote about in depth here) I saw a number of people leave their fundamentalist church over the spewed hatred. While I try to give the benefit of the doubt wherever I can, the LGBT bashing arguments are founded in nothing but hatred, fear or ignorance (in my opinion.)

Unfortunately there really isn't a way to change the mind of people fixated on how their pastor (or whatever) has interpreted the meaning of the bible. In my opinion it's used either as a political tool to influence people for some agenda based on hate, fear or power (usually by the pastor) or a security blanket for individuals who don't want to allow them selves to think outside of their 'comfort' box.

I know many transpeople that have been kicked out/unwelcomed by their church for many years, fired from jobs, disowned by families, or worse. These are the people that tend to refuse someones transition and purposly uses the incorrect pronouns and/or names. Sometimes good people after gaining some insight to being transgender, but many just stay embedded in their ways. This is a large reason (in my opinion) that the assault, murder, and suicide rates of transpeople are STAGGERING.

Just look at the attempted suicide rate in the above image. 41% of all transpeople have attempted suicide compared that of the general population of about 1.5%. The more anyone looks at transgender statistics the INSANITY is apparent to just about anybody.

Let me know if I missed answering anything. Great questions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65668.23
ETH 2619.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65