You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Gender? (featuring @sykochica as author)

in #lgbt8 years ago

I had no intention of this meaning that just bringing up a point of discussion would make them a bigot, I'm very sorry if it did.

A large majority of the transgender, androgynous, and non-binary communities don't have any surgeries done for 'transitioning' either due to not wanting to, against professional medical advice, or being cost prohibitive. While I can understand the concerns of (irreversible) surgeries, there is a somewhat lengthy process of sessions with a psychologist/therapist that's required before these procedures (or even hormones) are a possibility. There are a lot of transgender people who lead quite happy lives without any surgical procedures.

I agree that deciding to transition, let alone have the surgeries performed, shouldn't be done rashly. The WPATH standards of care are used to minimize the likelihood of "poor decisions." Personally, I talked with my therapist for over a year before even starting the necessary reporting paperwork to start hormones.

This is rarely a quick and easy decision, especially with the knowledge of likely social backlash.

Sort:  

I wasn't referring to you and I don't have that impression of you, I was speaking from past experiences. I mentioned this to some friends in New York and they told me that I was homophobic and they wanted nothing more to do with me. This is the first time I have mentioned it since then so I assumed that I would be attacked.

I will accept just about anything, but it makes me sad to think that people would do an irreversible surgery because they are not happy with themselves, even breast implants fit into this. I am no expert, I don't know if this is an illness or a biological thing that I don't understand. All I can say is that I really do care and I hope you know that you are fine the way you are.

I'm sorry you got attacked and lost friendships over that. In my opinion they waaaaay overreacted. This is why actually having the discussions is important, how can someone else fully know what's in my head.

I can appreciate where you're coming from with your point of not requiring surgical body modifications. I'd assume this caries beyond transgender topic into people in general.

Personally, I'm not a fan of hospitals let alone surgery, so things are up in the air for me. I do know of others that want the surgery due to sexual "concerns " or passability.

This always ends up being decided by each individual (nose job, liposuction, etc too) to intelligently find and choose their path.

Things like you brought up are important to consider.

You are one of the nicest people to talk to :)

And to follow as well. @gonzo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44