Powering up $5000 worth of Steem...more plans for the LGBT+ community.

in #lgbt6 years ago

In the next two weeks, you'll start
seeing more formal announcements.

I'm also going to need a few helpers.


Over the last month, I've been taking a more active public role to help grow and organize the LGBT+ community on here. Some things that have already been completed:

  • More active curating LGBT related tags (which I have seen some other users of varying SP doing as well...thank you!)
  • I delegated 500 SP each to two minnows to help curate these tags
  • Today is the LAST day to enter to win one of two 500 SP delegation for LGBT related curation
    • Get your entries in --> HERE

While I don't have any hard statistics, it has seemed to me that there's been an increase in posting into LGBT, LGBTQ and Transgender tags...along with some absolutely fantastic content! I have also seen some other higher SP users getting votes in these categories too! I wanted to thank everybody that's taking part in this whether reader, writer, supporter, discussion make, etc!

I am only one person though and have rather limited time...so I am needing the help of others as we try to grow the LGBT+ community here!

What's Coming Next?
What Help is Needed?


I'll keep this brief...over the next two weeks I'm going to be doing and looking for helpers in the following:

  • A new #LGBT room now exists in Steemit.Chat for posts that have at least one LGBT related tag on them. I want this as a place for LGBT+ (including allies) related link promotion as well as for any general discussions people might want to have.

    • I will be in need of at least 1-2 people to moderate this channel! Literally anything that isn't moderated quickly degenerates into a promo link spam room.
  • A new LGBT Discord server for LGBT+ (and allies). This would provide a little more of a 'home base' that we could all meet, organize, etc.

    • Just like the chat channel...I'm need one or two people to also play moderator here AND ideally help with some of the actual organization of channels, goals, outreach, etc.
    • I want to start LGBT+ related events. I'm open to what exactly this would be and actually do...but I'd like to see a gathering in some form periodically. These things always take manpower to put together and implement.
  • Lastly, I want to have a weekly curation post put together of the top LGBT+ related posts found, especially those higher quality works with lower payouts.

    • I'm need one person to take the lead on collecting, deciding and publishing these 'curated' posts. This can be organized various ways, but here at the start...I just want to see it happen and we can refine things as we go along.

If you're interested in helping in any of these regards...
please contact me either:

I do have some other surprises yet to come...so keep an eye out for future announcements!

I'n the meantime...let's power up this $5000!


Price of Steem at Powerup was $6.02

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you found this Helpful.


Click HERE for a list of All my Guides!

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Image Sources:
Hands
Lgbt worker

Sort:  

I’d love to do the weekly curation feature ☺️It’s one area that my current schedule can allow for. Power to our moderators, though! It’s a hefty work but necessary and I’m grateful 🙌🏾

THis is great work that you are doing there. God bless you :D

I support philosophers and poet most of all but if you don’t find any moderator ( which most probably you would), I would love to be able to help in this.

And congratulations for the powerup. :D

D4D266B0-BC83-47E2-9F36-4E961AF7AC6A.png

I am so happy to see this! I am new here (to both steem and discord, still getting the lay of the land), and haven’t been sure what tags to use for LGBT and trans posts yet- and I posted an original piece about Buck Angel and producing queer content a few days ago, so I was really curious! Thanks for what you are doing with helping out in this area. I will keep posting LGBT content, and will be stoked to find more community and know which tags might be best to use!

Wonderful!!! I am on to continue moderating and curating the transgender and lgbtq tags plus putting out content and hunting down good posts. I will coordinate with you in whatever way works for you ;-) Your the best;-)

Awesome!! :D
We def need to meetup on discord...ideally have a voice chat. I can cover more details of what I've got in mind and start getting you setup in some spots. :)

sounds great! I am available later at night this week, just let me know whens good for you and I wi;; pop on ;-)

That sounds good...pretty much anytime between 7-10pm CST is ideal...but I can be rather flexible. :)

awesome!! i work close again tonight but i will try to jump on the server right when i get home to see if your up. Have a brilliant day lovely!!!

This is great! I would be more than happy to help with any of the roles. I actually just got a LGBTQI CHANNEL approved on the MSP PAL server.

That's awesome!! I've been seeing those popping up on servers now...def happy to see that!
Hit me up in steemit chat (sykochica) or discord (sykochica#9521). I'll also be announcing a bit more of what I've got in the works over this next week. :)

I can't tell you how pleased I am to see this!! When I first joined Steemit a month ago I was hopeful that there would be more of an LGBTQ community or communities here, and so far I've been slightly disappointed...but it's likely for lack of visibility not lack of presence! I would be happy to take the lead on putting together and publishing curation posts of LGBTQ+ content, especially if I have a few "curator helpers". I'm @donovanpage on discord, feel free to add me if you want to chat more! (fwiw I'm a bisexual+queer-identified woman who has been out and active in the LGBTQ communities around me for years!)

We should still touch base on discord..I've not set anything in stone yet on the curation posting side of things. I'm all for finding best fits, adapting things on my end, etc..

I'm sykochica#9521 on there (since I needed the number to find you on there.)

:)

Having read a few more comments, I see you have a few volunteers for the weekly post. I'm happy to help in whatever way is best, although I'm not particularly experienced on discord so I'm not sure a mod position is a good idea, but I'd give it a try.

Happy to help, in a way I can, and and special thanks for setting up and lgbt chat room, as soon as I get to work I'll be checking it out, I've moded discord and chatrooms before, but I am au tz.

PS thanks for the leadership on this. 👍

Heeey, I am straight what about my rights. but secretly I am a supporter of my gay cousin.

I always see the rainbow community as integrating diversity into mainstream society. It's not for splitting us up into marginalized minorities. It's for everybody... no exclusions.

Wow... that is a lot of STEEM to power up all at once!

I think it's great what you're doing for the LGBT+ community on Steem. I've rambled before about my thoughts on it but I'll re-iterate... the more we spread the message of acceptance in the early days of the crypto revolution (and the more we help build LGBT+ persons' stake!), the less of an intolerant hellscape the resultant society will be.

I can't promise I will do it all the time but I'm going to start checking out these tags at least some of the time. I will leave the delegation to people who take a more active role. I'm sure there are plenty of more qualified volunteers already.

Thanks for the update!

thanks for share sir
Amazing work keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86