Why would I be a good candidate to curate LGBT related posts?

in #lgbt6 years ago (edited)

Why would I, well I guess to begin with I'm:

But honestly I've been out as a femme dyke now for almost 6 years and in that time I've become involved in both my local lgbt community and in lgbt networks at my work, I'm an outspoken advocate of marginalized members of the lgbt community, specifically trans and queer woc and my fellow femme dykes.

Invisibility within the lgbt community has been something I have often experienced as a femme dyke, some of the saddest times can be walking by other queer women and not being recognised an being part of that community, that's why I'm so open with others about being a lesbian, I'm trying to break stereotypes of what most straight people think of as a lesbian.

Working at a university, I have had an open door policy for any students that have a question about being lgbt on campus or just to talk about being life and any struggles they may be having, by being a positive example I hope that it gives support to those that aren't feeling that positive about things.

I've helped several transgender students, transition whilst they were at uni. both professionally and personally if they were in need of help and this has allowed me to have a greater understanding on trans and non binary issues with the community.

I've lost a lot when I came out, there were some people i knew that I just didn't expect to not be cool with things, they were actually very uncool with me being gay, so many of us deal with issues of loneliness, of combating the daily heteronormative loudspeakers that tell us we are not "normal", those that are outright homophobic, transphobic and biphobic, and those insidious allies that talk the talk, but not the walk, that we need to have and hear positive voices to negate that nastiness.

As far as what can bring more queer people to steemit, would be good positive content, we see enough hate if we look for it, so if all that is found when you search for "lgbt" or "transgender" is ignorant or dangerous posts, then no one is going to come, so great content and great and frequent curators is a must.

What I intend to do to make this a better place is for lgbt people, is to keep investing some money into steem so I can increase my ability to have stronger vote, so I can get the great positive lgbt content, up the top of the searches, keep up the advocacy work I do for trans women in my daily professional and personal life, keep being a cool person, be positive and keep my crying to the shower. :)

I hope I've covered what was asked for and this is a great idea, to bring positive strong curation to lgbt content on Steemit.

XOX

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75