You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Transgender: Ask Me Anything - What questions might Steemit users have but been afraid to ask?

in #lgbt8 years ago (edited)

Thanks for your article. I do have a few questions, and I don't know any trans people, so can I ask some personal ones? I would never do this if we just met, but since you are offering:

  1. How does it work? I mean, did you always feel like a female psychologically speaking, and doing the physical transformation just helped the essence of your real gender show? Or is it more just the physicality of the gender that you felt more in line with? What exactly motivates the physical transformation, if you can explain for those of us who have no point of reference, unfortunately.

  2. If there is no "gay" or "straight" and sexual orientation is irrelevant, does that mean sexuality is irrelevant too? Are you saying that being transgender has less to do with sex and sexual attraction, and more to do with who you line up with as a gender? What does "gender" mean? And again, is the physical transformation more a manifestation of the gender you feel, or is the physical aspect a big part of what it means to be a woman?

  3. How does this kind of transformation work in a society that seems to be leaning toward gender neutral? Do you prefer to see more traditional differences that make a more clear distinction between the two genders so you can enjoy that transformation more fully? Does gender neutrality, irrelevance in sexual orientation, and the ability to change genders make you feel like the male and female body are truly irrelevant? And doesn't it seem an irony at all?

Please forgive. I don't want to offend. Just clueless.

I'd like to write my own pontifications on the subject. Keep a look out for it and feel free to comment on there if you see it come up. I would not use your comments to me unless you gave me permission to do so, but I may likely refer to your article, if that's ok.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57014.79
ETH 2478.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29