You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LGBTQ+ Talk: Sexual and romantic orientations | Labels?!

in #lgbt6 years ago

Thank you for using "attracted towards people of their own gender as well as to people of genders other than their own" as the definition for bisexuals. Too often bisexuals get a bad rap for being "binary" or "transphobic" because the old definition says we are attracted to 1) men and 2) women. @limabeing is right, we need labels, and I feel bisexual fits me and helps me know who I am. I can also say I'm "queer" but it doesn't fit as snuggly as "bi." But bisexual doesn't necessarily mean we are only attracted to binary people. I've enjoyed moments with trans and nonbinary folks too :)

Sort:  

"Bisexual doesn't necessarily mean we are only attracted to binary people. "

Certainly!!!
I've been asked questions about bisexuality, and I've heard it all, including things like "If bisexuality exists, then there are only two genders" one too many times, and you know what? I'm tired of having my sexuality used as a foundation for ignorant comments, you know?
So yeah, you're absolutely right and I'm so so so so happy you made that comment!
Bisexual means we are attracted to two genders, that's what bi means!
<3
Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44