You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Transgender: Ask Me Anything - What questions might Steemit users have but been afraid to ask?

in #lgbt8 years ago

If you haven't even made this post, I wouldn't have known that you were LGBT, and really, I just consider you more awesome for having stated this :) I know quite a few LGBs, but I couldn't say I know any transgender individuals personally before you.

I'm not quite sure if it's been asked before here but, when did you find out about your true orientation and when did you embrace it (if you don't mind me asking)?

I feel sad when I discover that there are a lot of closeted individuals who can't embrace their true nature out of fear of persecution, social repercussions or religion. Everyone should be free to embrace who they truly are, and I'm glad that you have fully embraced your true self :D

Sort:  

Thank you! While I don't try to hide being trans, it's not something that comes up into to conversation much for me. I find that my primary passions fall in other areas. But now some answers! :)

...when did you find out about your true orientation and when did you embrace it (if you don't mind me asking)?

I had feelings that something was 'off' as early as age 5-6, which was (I believe) due to starting school. This is the first time that a norm outside the family was experienced. While I didn't understand what it WAS as the time, I could tell what things didn't fit. This was in the early 80's and the gay awareness campaign was in its infancy. While being exposed to the concept of gay, it didn't feel like it fit for me.

In my early 20's I first started finding concepts of gender change on the internet, some fiction some non-fiction. While I'll admit seeing transgender people (usually in poor light) on main stream media such as Jerry Springer, I didn't find this very helpful. It was all about the internet and felt a huge weight lifting as I started to find there were others like me out there in the ether. Right about the age of 30 is when the split between what I presented and wanted to present started passing my 'comfort' threshold and told my first person about this. A month or two later is when I told my parents and sister.

I feel sad when I discover that there are a lot of closeted individuals who can't embrace their true nature out of fear of persecution, social repercussions or religion.

This is so true. I've been very lucky coming from a reformed Jewish background, which tends to be extremely LGBT accepting. Another benefit was that I don't have a 'fundamental' wing of the family, every single one of my family members have been supported (even though conversations so that could understand better were necessary and completely understandable.) My biggest fear was dealing with society. At the time transgender was usually presented as a comedic skit or whatever that was on the Jerry Springer show, again not very helpful. In fact my perception for a long was more attuned to the negative depictions like these as well as the horrible violence or murder towards transpeople stories. While awareness wise we now have a much more positive showing in the media like Laverne Cox or Kristen Beck.

Everyone should be free to embrace who they truly are, and I'm glad that you have fully embraced your true self :D

I completely agree and I believe a large part of the American population would to. The others will either have a revelation, die off, or be dragged kicking and screaming about their "Religious Freedom Bills."

Wonderful Question! :)

With regard to the representation, yeah, I agree. It was a rather bleak time. That was my first encounter with transgenders as well, and admittedly, it was very unflattering. It's great time to be living now that there are a lot of transgenders being represented in a more positive light. As you mentioned, Laverne Cox, and the Wachowski's are great coming-out stories that would hopefully encourage people to come out.

In my country, there's this gay celebrity who has seen huge success in recent years and kind of introduced a wave of people embracing their true selves. While the reception has been mixed, I consider it all well and good in the long run.

It's great that you have such a supportive family, I guess that's one of the opportunities not afforded to a lot of LGBTs. It's great that you're sharing this to the world. I really hope that you would be a flagbearer of the LGBT at least in the Steemit community. People preach about acceptance and inclusion, and I really hope that it really comes to fruition here.

It definitely takes time but it will get there for the international community as a whole. However I saw 10 years of the gay awareness campaign do wonders, I believe the statistic now is that 9 of 10 people have someone they know or love that is gay. Trans-awareness will get there too :)

I've actually been thinking of splitting my posts between my usual stuff and trying to do more trans related stuff. Honestly just with some of the walls of text in this post easily can make their own posts.

Just curious, what country do you live in?

I love this, but I'm about to fall over tired. I promise I will get back to this tomorrow.
Ty @Jedau!

No worries! Take all the time you need with it. Have a good rest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35