You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who have you met that brings hate to the community?

in #lgbt6 years ago (edited)

Unfortunately we run into these types, it's maddening and can be very hurtful. I struggle with knowing whether or not I should share the truth of who I am with them, or even when I should. Usually with some body with this strong of a position on what they believe I just keep being myself around them, and I don't force any awkward conversations on them.

Eventually as we get to know each other I'll open up more and if they aren't receptive I just don't go there. They're not going to change if they don't want to. I feel like if they get to know me for more than just being "insert label here" I have a better chance at them seeing me for who I really am, and that's when they start being more likely to want to examine their beliefs.

With that being said though... there are many people out there that are never going to be willing to change their minds. How do you know who those people are though?

Sort:  

This is a brilliant answer! No labels, no judgments. It's a shame there are people out there that are so bad that it's not even worth talking to them.

We just have to pick out the people who are worth the energy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53